un día y una noche argentino & the greatest challenge of BA


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
April 17th 2011
Published: April 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

First week in Baires is already over!
Although I speak mostly in English with the girls from school (they're all beginners), I've learned a lot in clases and practised at home and in the city. I got upgraded, so this week I'm in level B2 and I have classes in the morning now.

I bought a 48h ticket for the city tour bus, which brings tourists to all important barrios. I did a first part on friday with the girls and the rest on saturday. Saturday was a really busy day with an Argentinian schedule...it started with the city tour bus, which brought me to the barrio La Boca, where I spent most of the afternoon and where I had good cheap lunch just one street further away from the 2 touristic ones. The tour continued and I left the bus at the Plaza de Mayo from where I walked home (Av. Santa Fe 0-3100). I just had enough time to change and go to the meeting point from where we went to the restaurant Marini: 72 pesos - all you can eat, but very good quality - starters, pasta, parilla, fish, paella, salads, and deserts. We had to wait for about 40 min to get a table, but then we spent about 2.5h there. Around 1 we went to a club in Palermo (a little bit of everything, but also reggaeton, merengue, cumbia) and I was at home at 7.
It's really difficult not to meet people in Baires! And to be a Spanish-speaking Swiss seems to be the perfect combination: many tourists don't speak Spanish and since the Argentinias often speak only little English, communication is difficult. And there are some nationalities that seem to be less popular, such as German, English, USA and Spanish (that's at least my impression).
Do you want some challenge? Stop a taxi on a rainy Sunday morning...already difficult for girls, almost impossible for guys!

Yesterday I visited (after sleeping a few hours...) the parque 3 de febrero with David and found by chance the planetario where they gave a charla (speech) about stars and where we could watch the moon through a telescope. And we tried the famous Kentucky pizza, which I wouldn't call pizza but it tastes good.

Today after classes, I went to the cinema to watch Un Cuento Chino, an Argentinian movie with Ricardo Darín - great!

Well, I have to go to my tango class (did I already tell about the private lesson? I love tango!). This was a little update and next time I'll talk about mini skirts and whatever I'll have seen in this city.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb