Flight to Argentina


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
December 12th 2010
Published: December 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Unbelievable. Yesterday, I finally set out to do what I’ve dreamt of doing. The past few days have been nonstop goodbyes starting with my last day at work, the place that I have been for over 9 years. Pizza was served for lunch while a slide show of me glaring on the background. Those were the days. Awkward. Around the conference table, I watched and listened as my colleagues laughed at stories about me. It was overwhelming to see the support and encouragement by everyone and certainly not to be forgotten.
The goodbyes continued on with my family and relatives celebrating the now annual family Christmas party. It was great to be able to spend time with them as I will be gone again during the holiday. I know, after last year’s Europe trip, Christmas on a different country seems a good idea, again.
Then, this past Monday was a period of adjustment as it was the first time that I did not have to go to work. Even though I still have some planning to do, I did not know what to do with myself after getting used to the 9-5 job. Coffee shops visit became the norm for a short time.
The past week passed by very quickly. I continued with my planning for the trip, took care of all my existing accounts, cleaned my apartment, and said more goodbyes. My travel partner, Kristen, arrived on Wednesday. We both got ready and put the final touch on our trip. During her short time here in Chicago, I took her around the city and my stomping ground, introduced her to my friends and family and gave her a short architectural tour of the city. Though, I must admit that the tour was mostly about the buildings that I worked on. Let’s just say that she has no comment about my tour.
I do have to give props to my family for lending their support, understanding, and encouragement. I tend to forget that they’re there to support me for whatever I decide to do with my life. This is not just my adventure but our adventure.
The flight to Mexico was uneventful. Got seated all the way in the back, almost lost my wallet (I ended up finding it under my seat) and finally arriving at an airport with no heat. As I write this blog in this freezing cold Mexico City airport, I started to think about what I left behind and what’s ahead. It’s a clean slate and a new beginning.
We just visited Sunday market and it’s amazing. So many stuff to buy, but very little space to store. We’re here with our host so now I have to leave. I’ll write more about it later. It’s been a great start.
Adios!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb