Training...rugby and the park.


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
April 25th 2006
Published: May 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Buenos Aires...Buenos Aires...Buenos Aires...

The city from various vantage points...
Well I can honestly say that I have never been this sore before in my entire life, or tired for that matter. Sunday I began training, and training hard. I figure if I only have about three weeks here I need to get in shape as quickly as possible. This means that I have been running every day on top of bike riding in the gym and lifting weights. When you factor in how long it has been since I have done any of the aforementioned activities you get one sore Ryan...I would kill for a massage and, or a hot tub. .

I am getting to know the people at my gym, who unfortunately seem to want to talk more than lift weights and I am beginning to get a good feel of the area. On Sundays there is a market just down the street from where I am staying and I have been running in Puerto Madero...kind of like false creek area. It has an ecological park that affords some nice views of the city as well.

Purchases: two new shirts, rugby shorts, spandex, mouth guard, cleats.

Am I Argentinian? The jury is still out on
Buenos Aires...Buenos Aires...Buenos Aires...

The city from various vantage points...
this one. Some people can tell right away that I am a foreigner (usually just after I speak though) while others assume I am a local. In one store I had three people ask me if I could help them. This has happened in two other stores. I have also been asked to take surveys about my opinion on local matters which I have no idea about. Also, people seem to be asking me more and more where stuff is or where to catch what bus. I think I may just adopt the Latin American way and point in a general direction and say 2 blocks.

Girls: Why the hell do girls buy clothes that they have to constantly adjust all day?

Marriage: Saturday night I went out with the annoying Belgian fellow and this married couple. The night was going fairly well until they had a ´little´spat. I left without saying anything and hit the sack early (2am). In the span of about 20 minutes she went from talking about having kids when they get back to getting divorced.

ID: They asked for my ID that night. The drinking age is 18.

Fame: My 15
Buenos Aires...Buenos Aires...Buenos Aires...

The city from various vantage points...
minutes of fame was in an interview with a local newspaper. They were writing an article about backpackers.

Vocabulary: Police, Policia, yuta. Boy, chico, chabon. Money, Plata, Mango
Bus, omnibus, boni. Chick, mujer, mina.

Rugby: The players do not drink beer down here. Thursday after practice it was pepsi and water. I never thought I would see the day.

Weekend: Friday night Sunset. Huge club complete with near naked girls, guys and trannys dancing on stages for your pleasure. Go home early at 7am. Club was not even close to dying down. Saturday I dragged myself out of bed to go watch the rugby matches. Unforutnately I got my directions mixed up and so spent an hour on public transit going to the wrong pitch. I did get to see some good Argentinian kids playing roller hockey. Closest thing to hockey in almost a year so I will take what I can get. Made it back to the hostel before I fell asleep in the park and woke up just in time to go over to Joe and Randys apartment for dinner. Awesome meal complete with apple crisp and ice cream for dinner. Had a late night
Buenos Aires...Buenos Aires...Buenos Aires...

The city from various vantage points...
discussing the more important things in life (who would win a bloodsport complete with all the top action heroes in their prime) and crashed around 6am.

Sunday we managed to get up in time to sign up for and go to a Bocca Junior game. Yes we did a horribly expensive tour instead of going on our own because everyone at the hostel said it was unsafe to do otherwise. I do not know why I still listen to that. Bocca was playing Estudiante and they won 4-0. The football was not as good as in Brazil but the stadium literally shakes (I cant stress this point enough. Quite unnerving. I thought it was an earthquake or something because the buliding was moving so much) when the fans start cheering. Out for dinner, a pub crawl and a club. Home at 7am.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Buenos Aires...Buenos Aires...
Buenos Aires...

has an eerie feel to it doesn´t it?


2nd May 2006

boca game for 120 pesos, can you believe it.
hi ryan, i hope you enjoyed the little snack you got for the price you paid. like you, i don´t know why you´re still listening to them. a ticket right at the stadium costs 14 pesos in the "general" or "socios" as they call it and 80 centavos is the price for the transfer by bus. at least you got to meet other very nice backpackers !!! keep going on having fun and meet you somewhere in asia... frank.
10th May 2006

Bloodsport Match
The man of steel! Superman would totally kick ass in a bloodsport match!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb