Visit from the Parents


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
April 27th 2010
Published: April 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello Folks,
Well here I am, two days after my parents left me to head back to the U.S. The time the spent here seemed to just fly by. I was so grateful to see their smiling faces again, give both of team a big hug. They really spoiled me while they were down here, as if I wasn't spoiled enough already(with the opportunity to come down here), taking me out to dinner every night, buying me things, so on and so forth. We spent the time down here in a leisurely way. Spending the morning sleeping, bumming around the house, and taking turns in the 1 shower that we had in the apartment in Las Canitas. I truly can't express to you how splendid it was to sleep in a large bed again, I am aware that I am spoiled, but the possibility to stretch out and not have my feet dangle off the bed(worrying about them being eaten by the under the bed monster) was magnificent. We named ourselves the "crack of noon club" because we rarely, if ever, got out of the house before noon.
In spite of this we were active everyday. Pounding the pavement of Bs. As. I loved showing them around the city, taking them to my favorite parks, plazas, restaurants. It really gave them a context for everything I have been doing down here, all this city has to offer. The possibilities are nearly limitless. I tried to give them a taste for everything here. The Old, The New, The Busy, The Quite, The Nice, The Green. I feel like they really enjoyed themselves, I tried my hardest to be a good tour guide for them. I enjoyed giving them the tour too, because it showed me how much I have learned about this city.
One of my favorite moments down while there were here was sitting on the 7th floor patio of our apartment and watching a strong thunderstorm roll in. I remember my mom poking her head in the door and telling us that it is going to rain, she could feel it, like a true mid-west girl. Dad and I joined her on the terrace and looked to the west at a wall of dark grey clouds settling in over the city. The sky was divided into near perfect hemispheres on the left the massive energetic potential of a thundercloud, on the right the a dark denim blue sky with a fingernail moon. The two sides began to blend together, creating a gradient scale, blending peace into chaos. In the silent distance lightening bolts began to dance across the sky from right to left. Seemingly from building to building. Bolts resembling the branches of a tree in las Canitas twisting through the sky. Bending, splitting in a compromise to end the debate wether to go up or down. Suddenly a bolt sprouts out of a cloud and marches a crooked path across the sky and for a fleeting moment seems to take refuge behind a building. Then it explodes outward, sending 8 tendrils around the building, wrapping it energy. Like a giant octopus of energy descending from the sky to take that building into space. We sat there in awe, uttering oohs and ahhs, appreciating the view of the city. I feel like simple events like these bring me the most lasting joy. As the great Philosopher Nietzsche said "For happiness, how little suffices for happiness!...The least thing precisely, the gentlest thing, the lightest thing, a lizard's rustling, a breath, a wisk, an eye glance-little maketh up the best hapiness. Be Still."
Such delicate moments make up the greatest happiness for me.
I would like to talk about another topic now before I end.
When my parents were down here they were telling me that the time we spent down here will be some of the most memorable of our entire lives. I realized in that moment that never before had I spent that much time with both my parents before. It was just me and them, together, with no distractions. I realized how special this time was for me. Then I said "Yeah, we just don't get the chance to see each other that much at home." They replied "Well thats because you are always 'busy' going here, going there, seeing your friends." There was no harm intended by this statement, not that they are upset with the amount of time I spend with them or anything of that nature. But this statement was a seed of crystallization for me. Another moment of realization that I live such a falsely busy life back at home. My parents are such precious finite treasures, I should value you them more, and spend more time with them while I am still close to them(distance wise). It relates back to the Nietzsche quote, "Be Still," as I come home, I hope I can maintain this crystal of knowledge, This gem of realization, and spend more time with the beautiful people that are my parents.
As they left, I felt a deep twinge of sadness struck my heart. Once again, I am in the city with out my family. Seemingly without roots or support. But as a returned to my host family, I realized I have strong surrogate roots here. Both my family and amazing friends I have made down here.
I am so happy to have such wonderful parents who have provided strong but paradoxically gentle guidance throughout my entire life. It was a truly splendid 10 days, another strong memory made in Argentine, once again something that I will never forget.
Peace be to all,
Love,
Patrick aka Paddy(for my family)



Advertisement



28th April 2010

A Keeper!
Patrick Higgins, you're something else....just beautifully written and this is a keeper! Your parents had such a wonderful time with you. I could hear it all over your mom's voice and stories. You continue to grow up to be an amazing young man. This is from one who watched little Paddy playing in the ditch and catching frogs..."the Patricks".....you both are so precious and special! Continue to embrace the moments and the experience. Love you, "miss" linda
17th May 2010

Wonderful post
Patrick: I enjoyed reading your thoughts here. Trips like the one you are on do bring into focus all that is important. You are a wise young man. Mike T.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb