Cultural Observations


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 31st 2010
Published: March 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello friends and family,
I just woke up on a Wednesday in Buenos Aires and had a slight moment of realization. I have talked much about personal adventures, weaving tales of imagery and excitement(hopefully). But through all of that I have forgotten to provide and substantial culture observations, which after all is one of the reasons that I came down here to take a bath in all the culture. I will take this chance to briefly describe the culture here if any of you are interested in what I have found.
1. Buenos Aires is more European than South American. I had heard this statement before I came down here but after living here for two months I really see the truth in the it. Its not only the architecture and the physical form of the city but its also the people. They try to be more European or American than native South American. This cultural construction comes from a history of white washing the country. In the middle 1800's an Argentine leader, Sarmiento decided that it would be pertinent to kill all the indigenous population in Argentina(sounds a little similar to my own American history). After that process was completed the country realized that they had lost the basic, level one, fuel for their economy. Cheap labor. Realizing this, they attracted many Italians(from Naples) and Spanish to the country in order to fill the gap in the economy. This created a population of up to 80% foreigners at the end of the 19th century. These foreign cultures dominated the native culture it was less of equal blend and more like a cup of coffee(european culture) topped with a little cream(native culture). This cultural domination still occurs to this day. Many people in the city don't know much or don't care to know about the native cultures in this land who have 13,000 years of history in this beautiful place. Not only do they not care about the natives they carry a heavy prejudice of those people who are from native decent. It truly does remind me a lot of the cultural domination that happened in the United States. Of course Argentina has constructed its own culture and nationality but it is heavily modeled after Europe.
2. On to some more day to day observations. I have noticed a heavy Italian influence in my host family. At times I feel like I am in Italy. The four of the family members have a tendency to talk all at once and talk over each other. I honestly live with some of the loudest talkers in the world.(And I have lived with Ted Lamontange, hahaha sorry Ted I had too) For me it seems like they are always mad at each other and are in some apocalyptic verbal shoot out. I have concluded that this must be from their Italian roots, talking vehemently and using dramatic hand gestures. They also use the phrase "shut up" and "idiot" even when they are speaking to their Mother Nelly. Something that is extremely out of the normal for me. But this is just standard operating procedure for them and they all get along quite well you just wouldn't know it from the way they talk to each other.
3. A final observation because I am a little rushed for time. This culture is extremely affectionate and many of my American cohorts are quite bothered by it. I have mentioned the tradition of kissing on the cheek even when you meet someone for the first time. Its not an actual kiss its just putting your faces cheek to cheek and making a kiss noise. Also it is quite rude if you walk into a room of people you know and just give a general greeting of hello. It is almost required that you make your rounds and give besos(kisses) to everyone in the room and then you can sit down, or start conversing with one specific person. Even beyond that the idea of not doing Public Displays of Affection(PDA) doesn't exist here. It is something I see on a day to day basis. Two portenos standing on a street corner full on making out(necking, snogging; whatever you wish to call it). And its not even young people either, I was at a restaurant and there was a couple probably about 40-45 just going at it at the table, eating each other's faces and not the meal in front of them. So many little interesting things going on here. I plan to provide more in the future, that is if you enjoyed this one. Let me know because I am in multiple classes on culture and history and I enjoy sharing my learning with everyone.

As for me things are going really well. I am preparing today to set off to the north of the province Cordoba. I will be staying at a ranch and doing some hiking and horseback riding. The final day we are going to go to these giant salt flats that stretch into four provinces. Hopefully I will see a good sunset and moonrise. My next blog will give the story of my upcoming trip and my adventure to the beach town of Pinamar that I took last week. My thoughts are always with you. Can't wait for my parents to come down, 15 days and counting!!! Thanks all,
With Love,
Patrick Higgins Murphy


Advertisement



15th April 2010

its ok...
hahaha i literally laghed out loud for about 5 minutes. sounds like youre having an amazing time. and i wish we were more affectionate with eachother out here in america. seems like we dont spend nearly enough time being friendly with eachother.

Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb