Buenos Aires - The Final Days


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 18th 2010
Published: February 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I cannot believe that I leave tomorrow! I am sad because I now feel like I am starting to know the city, how to get around, where to go, and it is time to go. But, I also miss all of you and am excited to get back to Boston, at least I donĀ“t have to go straight back to work! The weather here has cooled down and gotten gorgeous too, sunny skies and 60s. Yesterday I did a little shopping, and then headed to La Boca for volunteering. First I tutored the same 17 year old girl, reviewing excel equations and english pronouns. Then it was on to literature with different girl, helping her summarize a play and work through the conflicts. Then on to the little ones, where I organized numbers from high to low with a 7 year old girl. Lastly, long division, fractions, decimals, etc. with a 5th grader, it was like being back in NH! It was a good session, I feel like I am getting the hang of it, just in time to leave as well...

Last night Suzie, Meghan, Sarah and I went to a 1.5 hour Tango lesson! I would love to say I now know how to Tango, but that would probably be a lie. What I could probably do is follow someone who knows how to Tango a little better than before. It was a lot of fun though, and I wish we had gone a couple times. Also, there were 6 girls and 1 guy, so we had to do both roles and keep switching, which made it that much harder!

Today I went for a tour of Palacio Paz, which was AMAZING!!! Everything was shipped from Europe (mostly France) for a private mansion built 1902-1914. The marble and wood work was fantastic. Unfortunately, since I was going out for a full day of wandering and shopping I decided at the last minute not to take my camera. I was SOOO sad. Stupid decision. But, I made friends with a girl from Cordoba, Argentina named Mariana and she took lots of pictures and a couple of me and is going to e-mail me some. When I come back, I am going to go back, because it was one of my favorite things! Headed to dinner in Palermo for my last steak and wine with people from the house. See you all soon!

PS-I added pictures to some of the Galapagos entries.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0189s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1005.4kb