the trip part


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 15th 2006
Published: March 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sorry for taking so long to write. I hope this works. Because of the internet is expensive so I am doing the cut and paste thing. At any rate I am in Barlouge now. ( Bar). More on that later but First BA. Sharon got in on the 10th. I arrived on the 9th very early in the morning, I had almost missed my bus. Because instead of saying BA it said Retiro. The name of the bus station and it was not in the proper gate. But as with most things you sort of have to try to figure things out. Even thought I did pay for a the full cama. It was still only a semi cama not total full.

At any after a nice evening of the horror movies and not truly getting sleep. I arrived into BA at 8:30 and my room at the hotel was not ready but I was able to leave my bags then wonnder around in a fog in BA. There was some thing nice about this because I did not really know where I was going and had no particular direction, because I ran into the theatre Colin. This was a place that I wanted to go to on several trips in the past. But there was nothing going on. The teathre was not open all the other times. But this time it was open and there was a symphony that night. So Since I was only one person I was able to get the last ticket with a view. That was offered with a semi view of the symphony. I was sitting on the edge at the top. I wondered around a little bit more then headed back to the hotel. There I lucked out as well. They were doing work on the hotel. So it was pretty loud. So I was able to communicate the problem and it got worked out. I got upgraded to a suite, which was nice. I slept and when I got up I was able to see that I have a wonderful view of the main street in BA and the monument. All for 50.00 bucks.

That night the concert was great and after listening to the people behind me I realized I was very lucky to have gotten a seat that day and one I could see from they were Canadian´s and they said that they had tried to get tickets for this concert four times. They were problems with the ticket office being open, or they just were not selling tickets yet for that day’s concert. They said that like the states many of the good seats were purchased by subscribers. I don’t quite know what was being played because in truth I know little about that sort of music but I guess all you have know is whether or not you like the music and the experience, which I did. Behind me were sitting some very loud Americans from California I did not want to acknowledge that I was an American too. That night was an early one and I got home around 12:00 and just ate some cookies I brought for dinner.

The next day, I slept in a bit then after a while went to take care of a few things. I brought a new jacket that was sort of dressy so I could go out that night and not feel too under dressed. I checked into Sharon hotel at around 1:00, but it seemed that she was running late. She was actually several hours late. I contacted Vanessa and she was going to come into town at 9.

Sharon did finally arrive at 4:30, and she was surprisingly awake given the long flight. She walked around the town a bit then headed over the Rogolata district for a drink and waited for Vanessa. We had a drink with her then decided to leave for the other side of town for dinner. It was supposedly cheaper. But in truth it was not, but the drinks in this side of town were pricey.

We had a nice dinner by the domestic airport in town. As usually we ordered too much food and it was sad to waste it. But it was just too much meat. Sharon and Vanessa got along well. There had been some interesting progress had been made with her relationship with her new boyfriend and there may be marriage plans in her future this was good to hear. We left and headed home at about 2.30 Sharon was surprisingly awake but did finally go to sleep.

The next morning we went wondered around the shopping district in the Roalata, and then we planned a bike ride. We were of sort rushed to get to the bike ride only to have to wait forever for the bad guide to figure out waterbottles and the assorted things. We ended up doing the same bike tour I did in September. It was nice the weather was a bit overcast that day. That night we headed to the place that I wanted to bike ride too, the Palermo district. This was a nice area of the city and a bit out of the main circuit. We ate at a restaurant that was nicely decorated but the food was not that good. My meal was ok but Sharon´s was unbelievably bland. After the waitress asked Sharon how it was and Sharon told her then she acted a bit miffed. We then went to the part of town they said was young and hip and it was. We had a drink there then headed back to the hotel because we had an early morning flight to catch. Write about Bar. later. Love rebecca


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb