Ringing in the New Year... Buenos Aires Style


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 5th 2010
Published: January 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Colonial town of ColoniaColonial town of ColoniaColonial town of Colonia

walking in the chilled out streets of Colonia Uruguay
Well... my life has been a whirlwind over the last couple of weeks.

I last left you in Salta when I was with Keary from Calgary. We went to a very cool local place for dinner with some British girls. My steak came out the size of my forearm, cooked all the way through but soft like butter. You order a la carte so my giant steak was just over 6 dollars, the salad was an extra $3. Let me tell you... 9 dollars on dinner is a splurge after eating deal of the day prices in Bolivia. Afterwards I did my best to stay out past 2:30 am... but I just couldn’t do it...I am getting old.

After Salta we took a 17 hour overnight bus to Buenos Aires. We scored the front seat of the double decker bus so we had loads of leg room again. We said our goodbyes and I ripped it to the ferry station so I could get on a boat to Uruguay. I know... random. I decided last minute I wanted to be on a beach for New Years and though Uruguay would be a great option. When I got to Colonia
Merry ChristmasMerry ChristmasMerry Christmas

Matt celebrating Christmas day
and checked my email I found out Matt Johnson was also in the tiny country, so it took me two days to catch up to him in Punta Del Este (beach land for the rich and fabulous from Argentina and Uruguay... as well as Shakira).

I was so excited to see Matt, someone from home, and someone I hadn’t seen since Colombia. I tried to wake him up in the dorm but he was dead to the world. At 6 pm he finally emerged and I got my hug. The weather was a bit shit and for Christmas we decided to go to Cabo Pollonia. I had heard great things about this place, more remote and far from the super posh expensive Punte del Este (where we were paying $22 for a hostel!!!!) It took a few hours but we arrived. There are no cars allowed in Cabo so they have these giant trucks that take you back and forth.

Personally, I felt like we were heading towards a sleepy fishing village in Newfoundland. There is no electricity, the houses are small and painted crazy colours, and there was a light mist hanging over the point where the
Christmas DinnerChristmas DinnerChristmas Dinner

Fresh prawns on the grill bought from the fishermen
tiny town is. We didn’t feel like looking around and took the first crap room we could find. It was Christmas Eve so we went for fish dinner and then watched as everyone lit off fireworks on the beach at midnight.

The next day the weather was just as shitty, and there was a terrible smell. You see... everyone is excited about the sea lion colony that lives on the end of the point. Um... when the wind blows... sea lions stink. Also, there were quite a few that decided to die on the beach... not ideal for my Christmas suntan beach dreams. Christmas day we were invited for dinner of a lovely couple we met. We had fresh prawns and lots of rum.

The next morning I decided that the rain outside was too much... so I spent the day getting back to Colonia so I could catch some guaranteed sun on the beach there, and catch the ferry back to Buenos Aires the following day. I got my sun... and some sun stroke before I caught a ferry back that I was sure I was going to barf on. You’ll be proud to know I kept
Recoletta CemetaryRecoletta CemetaryRecoletta Cemetary

where the rich and fabulous are burried in Buenos Aires
it down.

My first day in BA I hung out with an adorable girl from Rio who got the attention of every male we passed on the streets, roads... etc. It was hilarious! That night we went to the famous Cafe Tortoni for a Tango show. Um, I would like to be a tango dancer now. The girls were fantastic and the show was amazing.

The next day I was supposed to hang out with some girls but they were still sleeping. You have day people in BA and night people. The bars don’t open till 2 or 3 am... so if you make it a party night, it is unlikely you will get up the next day to sightsee. Instead I went on my own to the famous Recoletta cemetery where all the rich and fabulous of BA are buried. I spent a few hours walking around, saw Evita’s resting place, and loved wandering out. I’ve decided that I want to be rich and fabulous and buried in BA.

A group of us did the grilled meat dinner... it is a little disturbing how much they give you, but we hammered it back none the less.
Meat TimeMeat TimeMeat Time

Grilled meat platters for 8 people.... didn't finish either of them
The only vegetable on the table was the French fries that came with the meal. The next morning a group of us girls (3 Canadians and an Irish) went to the Evita museum where we got to see some of her fabulous dresses, hats and shoes on display. Alicia and Tressa, you would have loved it.

Later we decided that some shopping was in order as we all wanted New Years outfits. I found myself a super cute black one-zy and had to have it (a perfect New Year's outfit... although not a very practical backpacker outfit) Well... in the middle of trying on shoes I had the instant “I need a bathroom now moment.” We walked outside onto the uber busy pedestrian Florida Street. A McDonalds was in view and I had to make the 100 meter dash in flip-flops. Here I am... thinking I am in the land of milk in honey where I can drink the tap water; eat all the fruits and veggies I want... Argentina is like being at home - my belly is on the home stretch here. I tell you only for your entertainment... I was seconds away from shitting my pants
Evita MuseumEvita MuseumEvita Museum

Some of Evita Peron's dresses on display at her museum
on Florida Street. When I got in the greasy smell in the hot restaurant was enough to make me puke. I felt hot and cold and was worried that Pisco belly part two was happening so we went back to the hostel for some rest. You should have seen me. I was like a little kid stomping my feet in the middle of BA pouting.. I don't want to be sick for new years. Thank god for ciproflaxin... that antibiotic is like gold... gold i tell you.

Later that night I left the hostel to meet Mathieu who had invited me for New Years in BA. I met Matt in Puerto Vallarta 4 years ago, he lives in Montreal and I haven’t seen him since. He is friends with Michael who works for the Canadian embassy here and I was invited to sponge off his kindness for 4 nights.

New Years day I had some time at Michael’s pool and then treated myself to a haircut where my hairdresser sold me on bangs. I had a pre-party nap and then busted out the new one-zy I had bought for the special occasion. Michael had a group of
Pool time at Michael's placePool time at Michael's placePool time at Michael's place

Thank you Canadian Embassy
friends over for pre-drinking and a view of the fireworks from his balcony. Ridiculous dancing and fun times ensued before we left for Pacha at 3 am. One of the hottest clubs in the city, there had to be 3000 people there by the time we showed up.

In typical inappropriate fashion… I will share a funnier moment from the night. While we were getting drinks Matt asked me if I saw the really short girl. I respond ... no. Later on the dance floor I felt something touch my leg. I turn around to see the smallest person I have ever seen in my life. I’m not sure if she was drunk, but she was sort of just bumping into people’s knees. When she bumped into Sebastian, one of Michael’s friends, he patted her on the head and sent her on her way. I thought I was going to pee my one-zy.

The boys were going strong on the dance floor but Monique and I bailed at about 6:30 am, but not after we saw the sun up outside, and checked out the DJ that was playing for all the people outside. I couldn’t get to sleep
Love in BALove in BALove in BA

randomly walking the streets of Buenos Aires
when I got back to the apartment. At about 4 am I switched from vodka to the Argentinean equivalent to red bull, called speed. I never drink that crap at home, but I must have inhaled 2-3 cans and my heartbeat was going in overdrive, I couldn’t sleep. I got a couple of hours sleep but not much. Matt kept partying until 2 pm on New Year’s Day.

The next two days were relaxing. We walked around the parks in Palermo did some shopping, and then checked out the antique market in San Telmo. I was having a hard time not buying everything from all the artisans… made me realize I must come back to Buenos Aires. I said goodbye to Matt and Michael and took a super swank full cama bus to Mendoza on Sunday night. They recline to 180 degrees; I got a meat and cheese tray to start, followed by meatloaf and mashed potatoes. Riding in style, but the damn buses are like $80 a go… pricey in Argentina.

I am now sorting out my Brazil visa and avoiding the wineries here… which is what everyone does in Mendoza. I am sweating my face off;
New YearsNew YearsNew Years

Mathieu chilling out before the party begins
it has to be 40 degrees here. Don’t be jealous… it isn’t winter in Canada… but this is too hot. I have no idea where I want to go next… I am dilemma mode. Hopefully the next blog will be full of exciting adventures, because I have no idea where my grubby backpack will take me next.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Happy New Year to meHappy New Year to me
Happy New Year to me

treated myself to a haircut... one-zy, and new shoes... all that barely fit in my backpack
Pacha!Pacha!
Pacha!

striking a pose on the dance floor
SpeedSpeed
Speed

My new best friend... Speed. The red bull of Argentina
Sun coming upSun coming up
Sun coming up

this was the party outside the bar... seperate dj spinning
Fountain in PalermoFountain in Palermo
Fountain in Palermo

time to cool off during our walk in one of the many parks in Palermo
Botanical GardenBotanical Garden
Botanical Garden

stopping to smell the roses... which smelled amazing
Chilling in San TelmoChilling in San Telmo
Chilling in San Telmo

Trying my best not to shop my face off at the famous Sunday antique and artisan market
Ice Cream TimeIce Cream Time
Ice Cream Time

umm... wondering if my weight gain is related to my daily consumption of ice cream


7th January 2010

OMG
I can't believe I made it onto your Blog!!!! My life is now complete!! Thanks for the laughs and good times and hopefully... see you soon!! Besos
7th January 2010

wooo hoo
Who is that mathieu fellah... shiiit gurl... get a ring on his finger!
8th January 2010

me again! (from Deutschland!)
Dear Sharman! Haven´t seen or mailed you a looooong time! Happy new year and best wishes from Munich/ Germany! I am glad you seem to feel well in Argentina. I am jealous! At the moment I am busy doing my practical two-year teacher traineeship, so I can´t make long trips this year...(at least last year I had the chance to spent 5 months in East Africa, but I wasn´t very busy writing mails or weblogs....). Anyway.. All the best, and do Europe next....;-) Cheers David

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1108s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb