Argentina Uruguay and Chile In a Day!!


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I got back form a 10 day long trip to Argentina and Uruguay, In all didn't like Buenos Aires, it was big crowded and dirty with lots of crime. While I was there some girls from my group were jump by a man and women who where trying to rob them. Also the city was more expensive then I had used to in Ecuador and Chile, however the food was really good. I had a different kind of meet every night. I also bought some cuban cigars, still don't like them that much. Also as a comical side note, I went to a McDonalds while in Buenos Aires, my first time in around 4 years or so.
Montevideo, Uruguay was a lot smaller and a little cleaner then Buenos Aires, but there wasn't much to do. The price of food made me very happy, I was able to get two cups of good coffee and a cookie for 2,50 us dollars. I also got to see the head quarters for MERCSUR (I think thats the letter combination), anyway its a free trade association between the southern cone countries.
After Montevideo, I went to Punta del Easte, with is a resort city on the northern coast of Uruguay. Since its winter here, the city was basically abandoned, and a storm rolled in with high winds that made it hard to walk outside. The storm was so bad that the day we were going to leave the port in Montevideo closed, and we didn't know if we were going to be able to get back to Argentina to catch our flight to Chile, but our boat was able to leave and land in Buenos Aires.
Now the next part of the adventure, out plan was about to take off and the pilot pushed the engines, but only one of them worked, the other just did nothing, so we spent the next two hours on the plan while they fixed the engine, but once that was fixed the radio wasn't working, and then we waited a little bit longer, and took off when we should have been landing, but I got free movies and tv shows for the entire wait, 3 episodes of the Xfiles and 2/3 of grand terrino.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb