Arrival In Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 5th 2006
Published: February 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

To Buenos Aires

Buenos Aires, Argentina. Rough guide only, as the map doesn´t get any more detailed! Will start looking for others!

I´ve made it. I still feel a little numb, like this is all happening in a dream, or at least happening to someone else. Shed the inevitable tears as I said good bye to my Mum and sister at the departures gate, and again speaking to Andy as I neared the Boarding gate, and then yet again when I read the lovely cards that my family had sent with me. Not bad going really. Now the jet lag is kicking in, but I´m determined to stay awake until after supper.

I arrived in Madrid with only 40mins to transfer, as we spent at least an hour on the plane sitting outside the terminal at Heathrow! The flights were ok, although the entertainment (Oliver Twist and Zorro), and the food ( Iberia specials of tinned cold mushrooms, artichokes and asparagus!) aren´t worth recommending! Bought a Tom Holt novel in Heathrow, and finished that before I fell asleep on the plane to BA. Called 'Earth, Fire, Air and Custard´. Quite surreal and amusing, ideal reading material for escapism.
Arrived about 20mins late in BA, barely noticeable delay. Queued through immigration, then found my bag (Only 4kg over the maximum 20kg -not bad!!!) . Out into arrivals to find someone from the tour company waiting. I´m due to meet the rest of my group (and room mate ) later today. So far I know that there are 3 Italians on the trip (including my room mate), and possibly a few Americans. Means that I´ll be listening and hopefully speaking plenty of Spanish. That and Italian. Just as well Karina and I went for the weekend in September.

Anyway, we´re 3 hours behind here, so I´m off to find some lunch, and explore the city a little. The weather is incredible - apparently it rained yesterday, but today is glorious blue sky, sunshine, and definite t-shirt weather!

I fly down to start the Patagonia tour tomorrow, so I´ll try and keep you updated with how I get on there.
Missing you all (but not the weather), Keep in touch.

http://www.travelblog.org/gmaps/map_H3.html

If you want to write to me properly, use my email address, if you want to add a comment, use the buttons provided!

Advertisement



6th February 2006

On your way!
Cold mushrooms yummy. Pleased to hear you have found the sun already. viajar seguro y feliz. adore de Tansy

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb