Bariloche + Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Published: March 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So after the big thing that we were told who has to go on the later bus when we get to the boarder we find that our ´guides´have mucked up again and the 2 girls (Laura and I) should have been 2 of the others......hmmmm you have to wonder how they got here!!!

So we finally arrive at about 8.30pm (11/2) and the others did not too impressed as they had been waiting around for us......I could not believe how far out of town the hostel was seeing as we only really have one full day here but hey just a bit more feedback to give to Intrpid!!! So we get to our rooms and head to eat in the hotel as that is the only place that we can eat we are that far out, but hey at least there was pool and table tennis to keep us all entertained!!! So there are not many buses that will take us into town so we all get up to get the 9.30am bus, Erica, Katrina and I are really wanting to go horse riding, I will get to do it again honest!!! The bus was sooo late that Stu went back inside just as it came along - so alwways the way i am just pleased it was not me that it happened to, however we are now to late to make this session of the horse riding so we head into town and go up in the cable car the views over the city are just awesome so pleased we made it up here its fab, love it!!! We stop for a quick drink up the top in a revolving cafe it is really pretty cool to see the city as a whole......we decide to head for the 4pm horses and get some lunch first so jump the bus into town where we bump into the others that got the later bus from the hostel...this is half the day gone I am pleased we got the earlier one......lunch was soo good I could not bvelieve how big it was I basically got a plate of lamb with a side of chips but seriously there was a huge amount of lamb I had to give soo much away!!! So just after 3ish we head off to find some horses, ended up cabbing it back up there as there did not seem to be a bus coming along and sort of glad that we did as I dont think we would have ever found the way otherwise!!! It was an ikle bit tucked away!!! OK so we took a few snaps outside the place and in we go - just in time for the 4 start.......go and speask to the people there and find out now we shoukd have booked as there was no space for today - a tad gutted as we were all really looking forward to it........so we go for a walk to find the ikle beach we passed earlier, not sure we found the right place as it looked like a lot of back yards where they moore thier boats!!! It was soo nice though and so we carried on walking along - did get a tad wet when we ran out of pebbles to walk on ;-) was a real nice walk though pleased we found it so we still got some fresh air in the lungs hee hee!!! We were strolling back up the path towards the bus stop when the bus pulls up - a bit of a way away and not sure we can be bothered to run until we hear Stu call out run......the other guys were on there and had go tthe bus driver to stop for us, lucky they did as it was about 40mins til the next one!!!!

Went to an excellent steak place for dinner although I could not eat anymore meat after lunch today!!!! So I had a pasta but seriously people went for it.....Aled had 800gms of steak, I am still unsure how - good skills!!!! hee hee!!! It was all going so well until the bill comes and niether of our wonderful guides get up to sort it out so I do it, really I should just stay out of it.......it came up quite a bit short and then I get informed that Simon and Pedro dont need to pay - this is all very well but they need to get all their food taken off the bill - it then comes up less but still a bit short they still need to pay for the expensive wine they were ordering but were having none of it so I just left it on the table for them to sort out - they then try to give me the blame for sorting it out - I so cannot be bothered i just need them to get me on a bus tmw and a place to stay in Buenos Aires and I need nothing more to do with them I just go home and leave them all to it!!!

We have a 2.05pm bus for 22hrs to Buenos Aires - nice!!! hmmm not!!! So a few of us get up to go to the chocolate factory, I am not sure I could have gone without seeing it!!! hee hee!!! It was pretty cool as you could see the chocolate being made......hmmm I tried not to droll too much ;-) I did however buy some for the long bus journey!!! (sorry mum and adina but it would have melted if i had kept it to bring home!!) We had to be at the bus station by 1.30pm to meet the rest of the group and our luggage it was all a tad worrying when they were not there and niether was our luggage..........they turned up at 1.55pm, seriously organisational skills are so lacking its untrue!!!! Oh well we made the bus and it was a pretty comfy journey.........

We arrive in Buenous Aires (14/02) and Alex is waiting for us at the hotel which was loverly for Iain then we find out that we are not booked in and have to find somewhere else - to give them their due they did find a place just round the corner and it was pretty nice so not too bad I am just pleased it is all nearly over!!! The people are really nice but I will never recommend Intrpid to anyone!!! We had a quick meeting after everyone had checked in........not sure why it was more like Pedro had to get stuff off his chest!!! So a few of us are all going to go to the Boca game this afternoon so meeting at about 1ish to get there in time to get tickets and a decent seat as its a free for all.......gotta love the terraces - I am not too sure how we got in I am sure that security were just bribed as still never saw a ticket!!! Oh well we were in and it was pretty cool to be there a real good atmosphere was just a shame that Boca lost!!! It was pretty awful though as we were kept in for ages after the final whistle and it was sooo hot in there......We all went out for dinner in an area called Palmero it was real nice and pretty but far from a late night as most of us were totally knackered!!!

Went out on a walking tour today which was pretty cool got to see some really cool stuff and I got to sing 'Don't Cry For Me Argentina' yes I know I am very sad but hey it has to be done I was there after all!!! Hee Hee!!! We did get to see all the sights as well please look at the pics i will bore you with al the ins and outs when I am home (still so far behind on this blog thing its untrue and its 12.30am now!!) We did all manage to meet at about 3.30 to go to our tango lesson - on my goodness it was soo funny I really do still have 2 left feet but I was def willing toi try and it was really funny to watch according to Alex.....damn that broken knee!!! hee hee!!! I think I did get a bit of a hang of it towards the end though but no I am no dancer just yet - maybe it will be fun to learn (sorry Dave still thinking about it!!)!!! ;-)

So we were meant to go to the dinner at the tango place but it was not doing all it promised - like a band and a bit of a show by locals so just did a last dinner at real nice place that was within walking distance - had a few last speaches, all very nice and all that and then got a tad tipsy and went to the funniest club - I think we were taken back to the 80's with the Acid faces and a total smoke screen......yup you all remember it!!! hee hee!!! Was def an interesting night and a few stories to be told the next morning ;-)!!!

So it was farewell to the group from me (16/02) - actually turned out to be a pretty cool lot and I think everyone got on pretty well in the end but off I trek to meet up with Emily, Hayley, Lucy and Karen in a hostel that luckily was only a few blocks away so no taxi needed - YEAH!!! Well what can I say I now have seen what rain is like in Argentina man it came down quite a lot, Karen and I left Emily and the others to wander about town as we went to get our bus tickets for tmw and basically just take a wander around town get a few last bits and all that!!! ;-)

So after a real quick meal the 5 of us all went to see a formal tango show, it was soo cool and not what I imagined at all as it was a proper show with lots of stuff based around the tango dance......and obviously it ended with 'Don't Cry for me Argentina' but in Spainish - cool - see I am not the only sad one!!! hee hee!!! We were not allowed to take pics but I sneeked in a few at the end - well you have too I say we paid enough!!!

So for my last few hours in Buenos Aires before taking the bus to Iguazu Falls I spent trying to sort out my bank as it looks like someone has stolen my details and tried to take nearly 1k out was not a happy bunny but finally sorted it with a real helpful man.....now just awiting all my new details!!! hmmm.......

OK off to Iguazu Falls now.................




Additional photos below
Photos: 84, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb