My first day as a Spanish Student


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
October 28th 2008
Published: October 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 2-3
During a jog through the neighborhood on Sunday morning, I was lucky to come upon a bunch of little boys playing youth soccer in an old and dingy gym (all of them thinking that they are little Diego Maradonna's) . I joined their enthusiastic parents in the stands, and while they were all drinking “Mates” and eating little pastries, I just enjoyed the morning and marveled at their kids soccer skills at age 8. No wonder the Argentine National Team is always a contender in the world cup. After lunch I decided to go for yet another walk through one of the neighborhoods. This time I had to take the “subte” (subway) which was a cool experience in itself and then just walked, and walked, and walked some more. Walking on beautiful old cobblestone streets, along local designers shops, street cafes and restaurants, under lush old trees n spring bloom, and all that on a perfectly sunny afternoon! Now that is the life. I stumbled upon two different artists markets on my way, and had to really hold back not to buy all the amazing silver jewelry, leather hand bags and belts, and other local fair. At the end of the day I think I walked at least 15 km and was quite tired when I arrived “home” at around 9 pm, just in time for dinner!!!! This late eating business in Argentina is going to ruin the figure, but wow, is it ever good!

Monday- my first day at Bridge Linguatec language school! I am enrolled in a group session with three fellow students in the morning for 4 hours, followed by two hours private lessons in the afternoon! Simply awesome! The entire class period is conducted in Spanish, so there is no translation whatsoever. My head is busting with new verbs, phrases and vocab, but it will pay of so much! The name of my private teacher is Rosario, and I have to think of Will & Grace all the time, although she looks nothing like that Rosario, but I did have to chuckle when she introduced herself! After school, I ended up going for a little stroll again, listening to Viva la Vida on my i-pod to clear the head and relax a bit and reflect on a fantastic day in Buenos Aires.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0652s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb