The End of the Road in Buenos Aires:(


Advertisement
Published: August 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've been putting off doing my very final blog because it marks the end of my travels & even though I'm home a month now, I haven't accepted that this is it. I finished out the last week of my trip in Buenos Aires after spending a few days at the magnificent Iguazu waterfalls....las cascadas. I never expected to feel so sad about going home....for so much of the trip I missed home but it's very easy to slip into the rhythm of life in South America......maybe it's the life of Riley that was so easy to enjoy....no work, only play....complete self-fulfillment is yours to have!! Complete freedom....free from responsibility & life's worries. What you do between the times you eat & sleep is completely up to you.....where you eat & sleep essentially are the only things you need to "worry" about.

I arrived in BA to the cold winter, reminding me of the real world awaiting me at home. Nonetheless I didn't give in & walked by day in my shorts & flip-flops. The layers were kept for late night outings. I stayed in an area of BA called Polermo. It's a part of the city where you're likely to stumble across a tango performance on the street while wandering through the weekend markets; with countless stalls all selling similar bits & bobs: scarves & belts, necklaces & cups.....all sorts, & then late at night fall into a restaurant still bustling with locals jabbering with friends as if they haven't seen each other in a lifetime......only to be greeted by a massive jolly Argentinian man who has been waiting these same tables longer than you've been walking this earth....& who'd nearly guess you're choice of beef by looking at you. And I can assure you that these professional steakhouse waiters are a mark of the quality of beef enjoyed by all.....they are top-class waiters....they also look like they've been eating beef since the days of the first hunter-gatherers & enjoying every ounce of it!! They are big men!! And likely to pick you up in a bear-hug as you leave the restaurant....maybe it was just me but it was sweet & memorable. And what will I think of when I remember BA....big tender tasty steaks, leather to make the hearts of men & women flutter, sultry tango & late late nights.....dulce de leche, ice-cream, bread & how could I not mention....football.

I stayed in a hostel called Ostinatta...it was about a 25 minute walk from the city center.....or the main shopping street called Las Floridas. I didn't shop there......it's meant for those of you with deep pockets full of money..... so not for me. It was a nice hostel that had free tango classes & yoga.....I was great craic to give both a go....however I don't think I'm ready for the street performances yet. The breakfasts were ample too; with enough bread to put Pat the Baker out of business & so much dulce de leche (pure caramel) that I'm surprized I'm not a diabetic after my over-indulgences.

Reccoleta is a wealthy area of the city with a very ornate cemetery. We visited it on our way back from the Japanese Gardens just to go see Evita Peron's tomb. The cemetery is massive & the tombs are all made from beautiful marble with statues decorating the pillars. It's very impressive but a little eerie as all the tourists wander around taking photos. Can't say I'd go a second time. But BA is definitely a good spot to go watch a soccer match. Now I have no major interest in soccer but despite the cold, it was heart-warming to be there as the whole stadium sang different songs throughout the match to support their home side...Boca Juniors. The Argentinians really get behind their team & the chants are great.

There's so much more to say but I'll leave some stuff for you to find out for yourself. It's the end of the road for me for now. A year of traveling....the end of what seems like a dream. More adventures than I'll remember or ever put to paper, & some adventures that I'll keep for myself. But no regrets. It's hard returning to the real world but it has to be done. I've decided that the word monotony sounds as boring as it is to live. So even though I'm home & can't be on the move every day, my mind can wander...... & so then I'm sitting on a beach feeling the sun on my face.......as I work away with the rain thumping down outside & everyone talking about an economic downturn.....thank God the mind is a powerful weapon!!

THE END............................... 😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 19; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb