Red Wine, Steak and Ice Cream = Heaven


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 25th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I made it to Buenos Aires! But not without a whole lot of adventure of course...

After Cartagena, I stayed on the Caribbean coast and ended up in the small-ish town of Santa Marta. We arrived at the hostel (I was still travelling with the Irish girls I met on the boat from Panama) and we were each given a drawing of a vagina and were told to hang on to these for later. What the...? Turns out it was international woman´s day and some people at the hostel were putting on a concert with games (hence the vag drawings) to comemorate the day. Needless to say it was an interesting introduction to ¨The Miramar,¨one of the older hostels in Colombia.

Went to Tayrona park, a beautiful tropical paradise outside of Santa Marta. You have to hike everything in and camp in designated spots. Absolutely stunning place but a bit expensive as there are very limited options, they basically have you. Spent close to $10 to sleep in a hammak! But well worth the price for the beaches and the great hiking.

Spent most of my week and a half on the beach in Taganga, a cool fishing town 15 minutes by bus from Santa Marta. Not the nicest beach i´ve seen but the most interesting in terms of people watching. Especially on Sundays when all the locals come out and the beach is packed.

Spent a lot of time in Santa Marta sitting on the corner outside a small restaurant drinking beers with travellers and locals alike, shooting the shit and eating meat on a stick, arepa´s and pizza. THe pizza here is amazing. They make it on the street and the slices are huge all for dirt cheap. We nicknamed one of the street dogs ¨techno dog¨or ¨perro electronico¨as he is known in spanish for he had a severe tick that made it look like he was dancing to techno. As you can see, one gets very lazy near the end of the holiday and museums be damned...

I absolutley loved Colombia and was very sad to leave, especially since I´d only seen a very small part of this amazing country. Would have loved to seen Medellin and the interior where all the great coffee is grown. Next time.

So decided to try and make my way home without flying to B. Aires because after much research, seems like it was going to cost me just as much money to fly there as it would to buy a whole new ticket home. One of the cheapest ways was through Aruba, which is a small Dutch island of the coast of Venezuela. Flights from this small area known as Punto Fijo leave a few times a day and the flight is only 15 minutes so I figured I should have no problems getting over before Saturday which is when the flight from Aruba leaves.

Thought wrong. Got there on a thursday and the airport suddenly closed down due to ïnternational security¨and no one knew when it would open. There went my whole plan. So panicked and decided to suck it up and pay for the flight to B. Aires from Caracas. But because it was Semana Santa, no buses were running so I had to hole up in this not so nice city for two days. REally not cool. Missed my flight and spent 15 hours in the Caracass airport before I finally got a flight to B. Aires. Basically slept in the Caracas airport one night and on the plane the next so was rather tired and dirty by the time I got here.

But I´m in B. Aires and completly in love with this city. Kels, you would die here. There is wine everywhere. Red wine for that matter. If you go to a grocery store, there is wine in every aisle to show you what you can pair it with. Everything according to Argentinians. And their two biggest delicacy´s are steak and ice cream. I mean come on. This is the best city ever. And the shopping. My god the shopping. I´m going to have to buy another bag. I´m so glad this is my last stop on my journey. I´m going to have to tear myself away from here.

So this is most likely my last blog. It´s been a great journey. I´m looking forward to home but I am sad to be leaving. I can´t wait to come back and see South America. I´ve only had a small taste of what this continent has to offer and boy was it yummy. The people have been amazing and the scenery undescribable (Sorry no pics...i´m so not technically advanced.) Thanks to all i´ve met for making this adventure one that has changed my life and my outlook on the world. See you soon to everyone at home!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0929s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb