Ok, get ready!!!


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Pacific
August 27th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, I've decided...

I'm going to sail.

Where? Everywhere!!

I haven't the first clue. So I'm starting at the beginning.

I don't know very much about boating despite the fact that I live 6 blocks from the ocean.

I'm tired of complaining that we get a lot of rain here in Vancouver and not going away when it rains.

I looked for a solution that would fit my needs. I currently live in an apartment. I have an ok view of the water, but more importantly (to me) I live close to the water. I need ready access. I also really like it here in the west end (see my earlier blogs about Stanley Park).

Some other of my needs are that I need to be in BC for at least 6 months of the year (for health reasons).

I need warm weather.

I love the ocean (Opps, I already said that... but it needs to be emphasized).

So, I thought, hey! For the same amount that I pay for an apartment, I bet that I could buy a sailboat. For my current monthly rent, and I could put that into owning a boat instead of an apartment. I could do that if I lived on the boat! Hey, that works! It would be on the ocean. I could learn to sail while I live on the boat.

Wait, I could learn to sail now. I don't have to wait to live on the boat!

So I looked into what it takes to be on the water.

In Canada, there are a bunch of laws, regulations and rules. The first is that for most boats now (and all boats very soon), you need to have a Boat Proficiency Licence. Its a one time thing. You pay the money and take a course so you know the basic rules of the water, write a test, and away you go! Then you take sailing lessons.

Ok, so Boat Proficiency. I took the course through the Burnaby Power & Sail Squadron. It was the one day course. I wouldn't recommend it. Do the weekend or weekly course. Its a little more money, but you get a better bang for your buck. You also get to meet other boaters.

So, Yup, I did the one day course. Took the test and Now I'm the proud holder of a Boat Proficiency Licence (that's a "Boat Pro" ticket to the boating world).

I learned lots of rules, some lingo, a dangerous amount of buoy reading (ie, not enough to be safe), and some basic rules like have a personal floatation device (PFD in boat lingo).

I'm excited!!!!!

Next step is sailing lessons.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb