Sea Sick Day - Day 3 at sea


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Indian
May 17th 2012
Published: June 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was yet another sea day. I’m not sure if the patch was starting to take effect, or the fact I knew tomorrow we would arrive in India, but I was starting to feel a tiny bit better. That being said, I still had a slower day. First port of call was the shower to get all the glue from the hairdresser the previous night out of my hair. Unfortunately that meant losing several clumps of hair with it. I’m sure that’s not supposed to happen, my hair is already fairly fine as it is!

Although I was still feeling off colour today I forced myself to eat, because having a stomach with contents seemed to ease off the feeling ever so slightly. I just had to be careful with the choices I made. Nothing too fatty nor greasy. It seemed to help. Fingers crossed.

Today was also the day that we had to line up to get our famous ice skating tickets. After reading online that the ice skating is the one event that is a must see, I made sure I went to line up for the tickets. The line was one of the few lines on the ship that actually moved very quickly. As I approached the table we were warned that the first day’s options were limited or already taken up, so I decided I wasn’t in a hurry for it, so the Second day 3pm show would be fine for us. Honestly, looking at how they allocated the tickets, there wouldn’t be anything stopping people from dividing up and getting to watch the shows twice, its just a case of having two people line up and grab tickets for the different shows.

With our ship docking in Goa, India tomorrow, we also had the requirement of at set times going to the main dining room and collecting our passport copies to be able to get off the ship, as well as reboard it. This also was a fairly uneventful exercise. If nothing else it gave us something to do to fill in the day.

It was after a small lunch we decided to go check out the spa in the Day Spa and Fitness Centre. I guess I thought if I actually jumped in some water, it might counteract the motion sickness I was feeling. It was quite funny making our way into the area. It was fairly deserted, which was a blessing, I’m not really the public exhibitionist. We learnt by reading the signs that we had to go and pre-shower before jumping in, so making our way into the appropriate dressing rooms, I guess I was curious as to what the showers would be like to use. I had read somewhere that the showers were the best on the boat. Now I’m not exactly sure what showers those people had in their cabins, but I think I preferred the one in my own cabin better. The temperature of the shower was set to hot, and I couldn’t work out how to adjust it to anything but burn …. Needless to say it was a quick wet over, before I made my way, probably trailing water all the way out to the big spa bath.

I guess I am totally ignorant in all things Day Spa’s and Fitnessy, because when I went to get into the spa, I guess I didn’t realize the term Hot Tub was the better term for it. The water was boiling! Ok, so it probably wasn’t exactly boiling, but the temperature was possibly 45 degrees if not hotter. I felt like a lobster being slow boiled. I did make my way quite slowly into the water, sitting on the side, as though I’d done this a million times and it was all so lovely and everything else. It was just so funny watching when other people came in, to see their reactions to the temperature of the water …. Thank heavens I wasn’t the only one who hadn’t expected it to be THAT hot! I did try and stay in as long as possible, just to shock my body into feeling better. In the end I decided this lobster was cooked, and I was going to head back to my room. The husband decided he wanted a bit of further punishment and was going to go into either the steam room or sauna for an extra roasting …. Good luck to him on that one!

After the roasting, I relaxed and cooled down in the room of ours. I can’t remember what movie I caught the end of, but it was one I hadn’t seen for a while, and someone told me off during the cruise as I mentioned I had caught up on a few movies, over the fact there I was on a cruise ship, and apparently watching movies, wasn’t the in thing to do … well, I enjoyed it. It was relaxing, very quiet, and my room just so lovely, it seemed a shame not to enjoy the space some of the time. The menu in the main dining room, didn’t really appeal too much to me, and after having to run out on the previous night, we opted for the lighter option of the Windjammer for dinner. After dinner my husband again went off to watch the headliner act which was “A musical journey with the sensational vocals of Jamila – Star of such musicals as, Disneys Aladdin and Elton John and Time Rice’s Alda”. I’m not sure, but it didn’t really grab me.

Tonight was also towel art night. On arriving back to our room we had the most gorgeous dog with Roberts sunglasses on it sitting on our bed waiting for us to love him! It was so damn cute. I did think it was funny that some people just blew off the fact that every second day you would get a different creature in your room, but I thought it was pretty cool. Was kind of like a kinder surprise, you open your door to find a new and exciting surprise behind it somewhere. Anyway, off to sleep, tomorrow we put our feet down in India and so very excited!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb