Airport Chronicles


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic
January 23rd 2010
Published: January 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

When I signed up for this trip across the Earth and looked at the flight over, I thought to myself, “Eh… 31 hours, no big deal.” After all, I’ve flown back and forth to Thailand before, how bad could it be? How long could it really feel like? Surely it couldn’t be unbearable for me, a weathered traveler, to handle.
However, sitting now in a jumbo jet flying over… well to tell you the truth I don’t know where I am flying over right now, but I cant help but wonder if maybe I asked the flight attendant nicely, she may just allow me to use the cargo hold to jump out and end this suffering that appears to be endless. 21 hours on one plane! It’s inhumane, inconsiderate, and just plane mean folks. I am seriously considering starting some sort of UN organization that deals with these vile crimes against humanity… and they don’t even offer free drinks! Mother of god this is ridiculous. Yet, I soldier on to write another blog.
All kidding aside, I am very excited for the things to come. This is truly an adventure into the great unknown: I still do not have a substantive job in Korea, I do not have a place to stay for sure on my first two nights in Thailand, and my itinerary is really just in my head… where its safe right? Haha.
So although I write now with a heavy heart, partial misery from sitting in this crammed jetliner and partial sadness for leaving home behind, I am happy to say that I look forward to the unknown. I remain optimistic that this trip will prove fruitful, and that in a few short hours I will be wasting away in a random Thai bar in Chiang Mai singing karaoke and making new friends. Did I mention I like to karaoke when I get a few cocktails into the ole bloodstream? Well…. I really do… sue me. Carpe Vita!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb