On the Ship


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic
September 14th 2008
Published: September 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My Room!My Room!My Room!

Yep, I lucked out (for now) and have my own passenger cabin! View from the door
Sunday, September 14, 2008

Well, after being forgotten at our hotel, calling the port agent to remind him of where we were, being dropped off at the ship only to wait in a small holding room for an hour, we were finally brought onto the ship later than all the rest of the new boarding staff (there were about 8 of us late to board).

Upon arrival, we were given paperwork to fill out and told to head down to personnel, where I happened to run into my youth supervisor! Her name is Linda. She’s from Peru. I have yet to practice my Spanish with her, but I warned her that I must just bust it out. I’ve met quite a few others on board as well. There are two other new youth counsellors (YCs) doing the same contract as I am, so we’ll all be here together. Their names are Nicole and Stephanie, both from Stratford, ON. Great girls. Lisa and Kate are both from the States and are the other 2 existing YCs, so with Linda, we’re 6 strong in the Kids Korner. We’ve also connected well with a new recruit in the personnel office named Donna.
My RoomMy RoomMy Room

View Towards The Door
She reminds me SO much of my Aunt Lori. Nicole, Steph, and I are calling her “Aunt Donna”.

We’ve been in a lot of safety training yesterday and today. Nicole, Steph, and I managed to get ourselves lost a few times while trying to complete our homework of writing directions from our rooms and workplace to our emergency/muster stations - and this is a SMALL ship!

The 3 of us lucked out and were given PAX (passenger cabins) to live in for now. I doubly lucked out and was given my own room! Not sure how long that will last but I’m definitely not complaining!

We did get to work for a couple hours last night in the Kids Korner. 3 children showed up. Nicole, Steph, and I had fun leading 3 young girls in a couple dances including cha-cha-slide, Macarena, bunny hop, and limbo. We only have 6 registered for this cruise, which is small, but it is low season, and there could be as many as 300 youth during the high season (holidays). Tonight I get the night off. I’ve had the chance to figure out the internet and intend on checking out the gym.
BathroomBathroomBathroom

As small as it looks. Yes, smaller than my bathroom in Honduras.
We, as entertainment staff, get access to the passenger gym, so that’s nice too.

We have to write our safety exam tomorrow but then from 11:15am until 5pm, Nicole, Steph, and I have time to explore Bermuda. We are currently at sea, traveling in that direction, and will arrive tomorrow morning. We’re totally excited to get off ship and see some stuff! I’ll be sure to take lots of pictures.

So far, so good! We feel the waves of the ship from time to time, but I don’t mind it at all. Until next time, as our Australian Cruise Director says often, “Have a SMASHING day!”


Advertisement



15th September 2008

Can I just say how freaking jealous I am of you......pax cabin and six kids wow I had a freaking freaking small cabin and over one hundred kids I am SO happy for you...ask about Tbone if you ever get her......she is amazing.....not sure if anyone I still know is around and what is your kids name...mine was Salsa...hahha wish you all the best!
15th September 2008

Settling in well!
Hey Sarah!! As your friend Stephanie just commented...yes, I am feeling a pang of envy too...I have definitely gone through the delayed embark onto the ship during a sign-on day and it's aggravating but to be given a PAX cabin upon your arrival!! WOW! Enjoy it!! And enjoy the low-season as well...when it gets busy...it's craaazy! But super fun!! :D Have fun in Bermuda and hope you endure only smooth sailing along the way. My friend hasn't responded yet with anyone he knows on the Majesty...but I will keep ya posted. Amazing that you have connected with people already. Oh, my 'Nutty Nickname' from RCCL was Rockin' Robyn...I guess NCL has funny names for the YC staff too!! Take care and can't wait to read more!! :D xo
16th September 2008

Awesome
So happy to hear everything is going so well. Lucky you to get a pax cabin - hope that lasts for a while - especially your own. What deck are you on? Have fun and look forward to hearing more soon. Love Mom
16th September 2008

I am jealous
Sounds like you are going to have another great experience. I love the tropics and all it has to offer. I'm sure you will see lots. Keep us informed as to how things are going. Talk to you later. Love Uncle Wayne
16th September 2008

sweet deal
Nice room Sarah! Enjoy that big double bed. I know most of my friends that did cruise ships ended up in bunk beds. Fun, fun! Enjoy yourself and I'll be reading your updates!
16th September 2008

Pow!
Looks and sounds like fun! You lucky punk. I miss our all day chats on msn tho. :( Hope you had a blast in Bermuda!
17th September 2008

Aunt Donna
Sounds to me like "Aunt Donna" must be quite a terrific lady(and gorgeous too)!!!! Glad things are going well, will you be teaching the kids any hip-hop or chair dancing? Have a great time, Luv Aunt Lori

Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb