Last Two Days at Sea


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » Atlantis
March 9th 2016
Published: June 25th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -37.0201, 159.521

Tuesday was the roughest day on the water that we've had and the first time for me to take some Dramamine. It wasn't terrible, but enough to notice, for certain. The ship pitched and rolled for most of the morning and the captain slowed down from an average of 21 knots to about 17 knots. We had rough sea and near gale force winds. I did much of my walking in the suite yesterday. It was too windy outside to be pleasant, and the forward decks were closed for safety so the promenade deck did not make a complete circle. When I timed it just right, I could make my walking all downhill. The rolling of the ship back and forth provided just the right rhythm for me to keep going downhill across the room just as the ship rolled back so I could go the opposite direction downhill, too.

We had two more time changes making a total ten for the trip. The last formal night was Tuesday; the next two nights on the ship mark the end or our cruise, and they will be informal dress for dinner.

Today has been a very nice day, and I spent a long time on the balcony reading and watching the sea. This morning I was up early and walked the outside deck to see the sunrise. It was beautiful with only a few clouds along the eastern horizon. Yesterday we pre-ordered this evening's meal. The Princess Grill has three dinners that must be ordered a day in advance. We had the chateaubriand early in the trip. Tonight we had the duck a la Montmorency. Ionel, our new head waiter from Romania, prepared the dish tableside. The other special meal is an Asian menu which have decided not to try.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb