Hello from NZ Part 2 Franz to Dunedin


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
May 29th 2006
Published: July 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tasting PinotTasting PinotTasting Pinot

Gibbston Wine Cave, Central Otago
Well, I'm currently in Dunedin, a cute little university town.

After Franz Josef, I spent 5 days in Queenstown, which is a really fun town - and a town that likes to take your money. Sort of Whistler-ish in a way. Big into Extreme everything.

Yes, I did the bungy jumps. I was not intending to at first, but then I decided I couldn't be a big chicken, so I did all 3. The K-Bridge was my 1st jump at 43m. I then did the Ledge jump at night time (it overlooks Queenstown) at 47m. Finally, the Nevis, at 134 m. I have video and pictures for them all - so you can see me freaking out live the next time I see you. The look of fear that crosses my face before my first jump is pretty funny. I had a friend come watch me do the Nevis, so I have pictures of that one uploaded.

Other than that, I spent a day doing a wine tour of the Otago region. Pinot Noirs, which I much prefer over Sauv Blanc - although I did try a barrel fermented sauv blanc (asparagus and capsicum) which was really amazing.
Kawarau Bridge Bungy JumpKawarau Bridge Bungy JumpKawarau Bridge Bungy Jump

World's 1st Commercial Bungy Site


After Queenstown, we went to Milford sound and did a sound boat tour, which was very nice. Everyone talks about how spectacular Milford Sound is, but it looks so very much like Vancouver Island, that I just cannot work up the same awe for it.

Next up was Invercargill, which is a depressing town at the very south of the South Island, but the jumping off point for Stewart Island. Or maybe not a depressing town, just depressing weather. It was gray and raining. But, we brightened our spirits with a little drink and song at the Frog N Firkin. Somehow I got talked into karioke - I guess if I could bungy jump and all. . . Elyse and I sang a lovely rendition of California Dreamin - lovely if you're a dog anyway.

From Invergargill, I crossed to Stewart Islandand spent 2 days there. The 1st day was pouring rain, so we didn't do much - just a walk out to Ackers Point Lighthouse. The second day I went to Ulva Island, which has a nature sanctuary where the DOC has killed off all of the non-native pests (ie possums, rats, etc) and are re-introducing
The Ledge BungyThe Ledge BungyThe Ledge Bungy

Up Above Queenstown
native plants and birds. I spent 4 hours wondering around observing weka, wood pigeons, oyster catchers and a green and red parakeet, which looks a lot like a parrot, in their natural habitat.

The ferry crossing from Stewart Island to Bluff is one of the roughest crossings in the world. I didn't know what they were talking about on the crossing to Stewart Island as it was relatively calm. The crossing back to the South Island was rough. I generally enjoy the bumpy waves and am not generally prone to seasickness, but after about 1/2 an hour in, I was feeling it. Iain and I had to go sit near the back of the boat and 5 minutes later I was using the barf bags. Nothing you could do, it was so rough that we had to stay in our seats, so I was trying to puke as quietly as possible. There just isn't an elegant way to do that.

After Stewart Island I travelled up to Dunedin. I've been here two days - didn't do much yesterday except laundry. Today I wandered aroundthe town and walked up the world's steepest street.

After Dunedin, I go around
The NevisThe NevisThe Nevis

The World's First Gondola Jump
to Christchurch again and then I am off to the North Island.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

What Was I Thinking?!What Was I Thinking?!
What Was I Thinking?!

I'm just about to jump
It's A Long Way Down!It's A Long Way Down!
It's A Long Way Down!

I'm dangling at the bottom of a rope
Kissing FishKissing Fish
Kissing Fish

Minus 5 Bar Queenstown
Raspberry RoyaleRaspberry Royale
Raspberry Royale

Minus 5 Bar Queenstown
I Really Need One of These Back HomeI Really Need One of These Back Home
I Really Need One of These Back Home

The Umbrella, Invergargill
Lunch ThiefLunch Thief
Lunch Thief

A Weka (not a kiwi), Ulva Island
The View From The TopThe View From The Top
The View From The Top

Top of Baldwin Street, The World's Steepest Street, Dunedin


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb