The East Coast


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
February 26th 2011
Published: February 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The East Coast

Arrived in Queenstown and immediately loved the city. It is right on the water with beautiful mountains in the background. We stayed 5 nights there at the Nomads which is NZ’s winner of the golden backpacker. We met up with almost everyone we have met along our travels here and this was a great chance to swap travel stories and play a little Frisbee golf and of coarse dive into the delicious “Fergburger”.

The first night we went out and our friend Heather Lawrence from Guelph surprised us at the bar. I was so excited to see her, a few nights later was her 24th Birthday and in classic Gryphon style we all did a big wind your toy dance for her birthday.

It was decided that we had to do something adventurous while we were in Queenstown because this is the adrenaline capital of the world. So we went river boarding down level 3 rapids with just a wake board with our bus driver Bubbles. The pictures are pretty hilarious from this adventure, we went on the back of a jet ski (Jon pushed me off and the German driver “Mama duck” decided to toss him off afterwards – that’s what he gets for being a bully), cliff jumping, went down this really cool slide and of coarse through the rapids. I got to know the guides pretty well that day I kept drifting off towards rocks with my helmet over my face and they came to my rescue and shoved me back down the center of the river. A really great activity I would recommend to everyone.

Left Queenstown for Christchurch on Tuesday the day of the earthquake. We had an overnight stop in Mount Cook and that is when we found out about the earthquake. Several of our friends left earlier in the week for Christchurch which we were supposed to as well but we delayed the bus because we were having such a good time. We have touched based with most of them and everyone is thankfully okay but the city is in a state of emergency. I know everyone back home has been watching and we are just as relieved that we weren’t there at the time of the earthquake.

Arrived in Kaikoura instead of Christchurch which is about 3-4 hours north of it. We decided to get after some whale watching today. We were a bit disappointed only saw the fin of a whale and I was sea sick (no surprise there I know) Other groups that went out today saw whales and dolphins so maybe I will try to get some of their pictures and claim them as my own.

We are now in Nelson again we are off the Stray bus for now but we might be back on the tour 😉 The South Island has been incredible I feel so lucky to be here. Now the job hunt begins unless anyone would like to sponsor the trip?

Colleen


Advertisement



26th February 2011

Oh Colleen, it sounds like your group is a real box of budgies. Surprised you didn't chund after the whale watching expedition. Hopefully your not in a bit of a skint and can vacation for a little longer, while you're looking for a "sponsor". Hooray for now!
26th February 2011

NZ codes
Hi There Well I completely understand what you are saying now and I was mistaken yesterday for a local so I must be picking up the culture. I am currently poolside typing this message so the vaccation is not over yet! Pictures to come soon I hope!

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb