When the earth moves...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
February 23rd 2011
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

As I write this, New Zealand is going through what John Key has described as "their darkest days". Christchurch has been hit by a devastating earthquake and whilst we were at the top of the South Island and didn't feel it, one cannot help but be effected by the horrific scenes that have been playing consistently for the last 27 hours. Things are always made more frightening by the knowledge that we were in one of the worst affected streets the Saturday before, that friends were visiting the cathedral the day before and that whilst we thank our guardian angels, there are many people whose guardian angels were nowhere to be seen as their lives were as devastated as the city itself. The worst scenes are of people waiting outside buildings - waiting to see whether their loved ones will be rescused, wondering whether they are still alive to be rescued. In September when Christchurch was hit by the first earthquake, our hearts went out to people who had lost their homes... this time, the damage to buildings seems irrelevant.

One sits around the TV whilst the same pictures play over and over and desperately wants to do something. There were calls to donate blood - by today, when I was to head into town and try my luck donating my African blood (it is generally not wanted due to the high HIV statistics) the blood foundation had said there was no more blood needed as so many people had responded to the call. How wonderful humanity can be in a crisis!

There is nothing that can be said; no way to make sense of this.

As the shock calms and life returns to normal - as it has to, I will write more. For now though, I update you with a period of my life from nearly a year ago - my time in Sydney. Cairns is still only half complete and so the blog loses its chronological order, but I know my mum will appreciate it all anyway!

For now, my heart goes out to the people of Christchurch and I hope and pray for all those trapped or have lost loved ones. May Mother Nature be kind from here onwards...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb