Dec. 31, 2010 - Jan. 4, 2011 Destroyed: New Zealand 1, Nick 0


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
January 4th 2011
Published: January 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Grimance: (n) 1. a contortion of the face in pain 2. a constant look on Nick's face

Dec. 31, 2010 - Here we go...
Got up today and had breakfast at Jim and Helen's. Before mid morning a tramping party of 11 was away. After a nearly two hour drive we got to the trail head, by a lake. We gear up and we're off.
Here I encounter my first of many river crossings. This one is nearly waist deep, and moving fast. You link up with someone else, to help balance and steady yourself, and wade across. It's really not that cold. Wet boots and socks will become the norm from here.
We tramp around the lake, and up a valley. It's beautiful. Hard work, but very worth it. We don't follow a trail. Instead, we're on a route. Essentially, this means that we're simply bushwhacking across country in the general direction we know we must go. This is much harder then I thought it would be. We camp near the base of a pass we'll go over in the morning. Tents are set up and dinner is had. It's New Years, but we're all tired by 9:00 and go to bed after an early New Year's song and some wine.

Jan. 1, 2011 - Day of Days
We wake early, and break camp after a quick breakfast. We're tramping by about 8:00. We walk up the reminder of the valley, and begin our ascent to the pass. Again, there's no trail. We pick the best looking spot, and start up. This is the hardest and steepest climb I've ever done. It's slow going for me, but I eventually make it. The final ascent is made on loose scree (very difficult to walk up). I finally reach the top. I'm now exhausted, but the awesome views are worth the pain. We rest and eat lunch at the summit. The day quite literally went downhill for me from there.
We start down. It's super steep and very hard for me. I fall many a time. Once down from the mountain proper my legs feel like jello. Now it's time to go down the new valley. Because of my slower pace, the others press on and we'll meet them for supper. Andrew and Chad hang back to hike with me. Going down this valley was incredibly hard for me. It was full of pretty, but super sharp plants called Spaniards, and high snow grass. The ground along the descent is difficult to walk through. There are sink holes and trenches everywhere. The tall grass make these impossible to see. I fall several more times.
We finally make it to the trees. It's getting late, and we have to move if we're to catch up with the others. This is severely hampered by the dense forest. We have to bash our way through. My legs are here battered, bruised and thoroughly destroyed by the process. The damage is superficial, but still hurts. We press on, following the the river. Finally, at nearly nightfall, we find the others. It's about 9:30 at night. We set up our camp just as the sunlight fades, and have a late dinner. I feel dead at this point. We were walking for 13 hours.

Jan. 2, 2011 - The breaking of the fellowship
Dawn comes way too fast (as soon as I close my eyes it seems). Both my big toes have developed sizable blisters. My legs are still destroyed from yesterday's tramp. We set off for a hut. The first two hours is hard bush tramping again. I'm slow, but manage to keep up. At last we come to a proper trail. Finally! At this point my hips began to hurt something awful.
We press on, up a steep climb. I'm getting worse. Once we've begun our descent towards the hut we find Pete. He and another, Matt, had gone on ahead to look for the the trail the day before. They lost each other. Matt found and rejoined the group that same night. However, Pete had got so far ahead that he was forced to push on to the hut alone, and had arrived at nightfall the previous day. This would lead to some confusion as to who was with who, and even the police got involved in almost launching a search party. Luckily, we were able to get that stopped.
We finally get to the hut. Here it is decided that I'm not in good enough condition to continue on the planned route. I stay at the hut with Andrew and an older gentlemen, Barry. Barry also felt that he'd had enough of the tramp at this point and was looking for an early exit. So the others push on, and the three of us remain at the hut. I develop a bad case of heartburn, and hiccups because why not at this point? But the hut is nice and warm. There are about ten other people there. We just chill for the rest of the day, which is exactly what I needed.

Jan. 3, 2011 - The Water Taxi
Andrew, Barry, and I wake early. We need to get a jump on today's tramp to the next hut. We're trying to catch a jet boat that will be there by 3:00. The water taxi will take us across the lake. Today we get to walk on an actual trail. I need this. Even with it, it's pretty hard for me with my damaged feet. The trail follows a river out to where it joins up with a lake. The sights are still breathtaking. Despite my dead legs, we make it to the hut on the lake with time to spare.
It's incredibly beautiful. Of course, all the sandflies make it hard to be outside for too long. After about an hour and a half, we are picked up by the water taxi. We speed away across the the huge lake. The water is incredibly blue and clear. The views are very nice. On the other side we set up tents in a small campground.
It's hot and humid and the area is infested with sandflies. I'm only able to limp around at this point (it was rather pitiful, if I do say so myself). But we're almost out.

Jan. 4, 2011 - A bus ride
In the morning, the lady who runs the campground gives us a lift out to the main road. Our intention was to hitchhike to a small town, where we could get a bus. After about an hour or so with no luck of a ride, Barry sees a bus with a sign for Christchurch. This is the only bus that runs there that day. We flag it down and have our ride back. It's about a five hour journey or so. There are a couple stops made along the way, but not for too long. Despite being trapped on a bus, it was a good way to see some of the stunning countryside.

This first tramp was much much harder than I anticipated. However, despite my injuries and broken body, it was great. A complete adventure, which is exactly what I was looking for. I'm loving it here so far. I'll likely need a couple days rest and then some easier tramps to ease myself in (trails would be nice!), but I'll get stronger and faster as I go.
My legs felt like lead, and are full of scratches and bruises, a skinned shin, sore hips, blisters, sunburned arms, sandfly bites, and a bee sting... and I've only just begun.
Bring it on!



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



5th January 2011

cool pictures.
Yes Grimance, heartburn, and hiccups--best hike EVER!!!! It sounds rough-- but you have survived--and to tell the truth I would have stayed at the hut for days... make a mini stay-cation there so you are stronger person than me. I can't wait to read about the next adventure. Take care of those legs. D
5th January 2011
MG 3126

my bruised worrior
sorry It was so hard right off the bat. I hope the next trail tramp will be easier for you and you will sustain no further injuries. Wish i was there to help patch you up. please be more careful and surefooted . Loved the pictures.
5th January 2011

WAHOOO!!
Nick, I t sounds like an amazing way to bring in the New Year! Your journey may be off to a rocky start but I am sure it will only get better from here! Soak up every moment:) CHEERS!!!
5th January 2011

Worth It
Wow, what fantastic photos! The valleys looks so beautiful. I can see why it was worth it. Enjoy!

Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb