The bucket list


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
April 26th 2010
Published: April 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It was not an auspicious beginning
The future neither could see
I hadn't thought no booze was easter
My friend hadn't bought duty free

Things didn't get any better
As we set off in hire car Abdul
The whales didn't want to be spotted
The weather remained pretty dull


We set off to do some tramping
The New Zealander word for a hike
The views were truely gorgeous
But the blisters sure started to bite

My friend was fairly hobbled
But a soldier she is it is true
Stuck a pin in those nasty buggers
And carried herself on to day two


And here was the turn point of our trip
Shooting stars and stunning views of the Sound
Inspired by our hostess Noeline
And the beauty that was all around

From here we went south in the country
A glacier walk for the day
A guide with a axe carved a path
In the ice of white, blue and of grey


The Routeburn track was our next stop
A world top ten tramp you'd agree
With rivers, plains, forests and mountains
A Hobbit - I kept hoping to see


The next day a feast of adrenalin
A canyon swing was the dare
With a cry of 'hey, shall I take her?'
I pulled us both into mid air


As we plummetted into the canyon
The air turned blue as we cursed
I loved it so much though - I did it again
This time, my legs up - face first

Our next destination was Milford
Of beauty famous everywhere
A boat trip would take us to see it
To marvel, to wonder to stare


We then headed back towards Christchurch
For our journey together was through
But an eruption of Icelandic volcano
Would mean delays of a day yet - or two

So now we were living with destiny
As we made to the north island
The whales came out as the sun did
Everything was going grand


The final event for New Zealand
Was to throw ourselves out of a plane
200 kilometres per hour
You've got to think we were insane

Never have I had such a feeling
Of freedom, of awe and of rush
First falling like a stone to the earth
Till the canopy opened -

then hush


So New Zealand has been an adventure
Of dreams of my own bucket list
Where you find that there is so much living
In friendship, challenge, beauty and risk.















Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



27th April 2010

Wow!
Good lord, that must have taken you forever to come up with, well done Cheryl! I wish I had the energy and talent to write one of my entries like that. Great!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb