New Zealand, South Island, part 1


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
March 26th 2008
Published: April 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Nelson is the sunniest town in NZ and close to Abel Tasman National park which is a nice place fo kayaking and walking.
I did a 6 hour Abel Tasman walk, but I have seen too much in Oz (Australia) and Tasmania so wasn't that special for me as some may think it is.
I ended up staying at Paradiso backpackers hostel and it was so nice so I decided to stay here 5 nights and enjoy the pool, jacuzzi and sauna 😊 In Nelson is a hill which is dubbed as the center of New Zealand. So it's as far to north top and south top of NZ. Wow ... not 😉 Pretty view though.

Abel Tasman National Park is not too far from Nelson so I went there for a day tour. Bus to a harbour where a boat took me further into middle of the coastal track and then I walked back for 6 hours and got bus home. I was told Abel Tasman was really nice, but I guess I have seen too much already so it wasn't that special to me. Also it was strange that there were houses in the national park, which was due to parts of the land being owned privately before it became a national park. So it didn't feel like really being out in the wild nature :/

Punakaiki is known for the pancake rocks and blow holes. If I remember correctly Punakaiki is the maorified english word "pancake", so why not just called the place Pancake? Would be more fun 😊 However, Punakaiki is a really beatiful place and I wish I had stayed there more then one night and went kayaking on the river. Check the river photos and decide yourself 😉

Franz Josef Glacier !
I continued my way south along the west coast and got to Franz Josef glacier and did a awesome full day walk on the glacier itself. I really recommend doing a glacier walk if you get the chance. Sure it's just ice, but it's huge amounts of ice 😊 An experience almost ranking with Waitomo black water rafting! The photos show that I had fun freezing my bum off 😊

Fox glacier was also worth a visit since you don't see glaciers that often do you? Well, at least not I and don't think many do. Fox glacier was more jagged then Franz Josef and looked more like Supermans fortress of solitude which I guess is close to North Pole and perhaps close to Santa Claus workshops? 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Low tide route is straight ahead ...Low tide route is straight ahead ...
Low tide route is straight ahead ...

My guess is that it's high tide then and an extra hour to walk :/
More snacks?More snacks?
More snacks?

Looks like orange with white chocolate flavour
Cleopatra's poolCleopatra's pool
Cleopatra's pool

Nice view :)
Kids invading the hostel poolKids invading the hostel pool
Kids invading the hostel pool

To the left you can see the people in jacuzzi telling the kids they are not allowed in the jacuzzi ;)
Crazy, 50 Cent and Climber (me)Crazy, 50 Cent and Climber (me)
Crazy, 50 Cent and Climber (me)

Costume farewell party for hostel workers Carlo and Chrissy and people had to dress up as something starting with an 'C'
Me and a hot chick ...Me and a hot chick ...
Me and a hot chick ...

but I hope I don't get "lucky" tonight
Punakaiki pancake rocksPunakaiki pancake rocks
Punakaiki pancake rocks

The rocks are famous for being layered like pancakes.
My punakaiki hostelMy punakaiki hostel
My punakaiki hostel

Peaceful and in the middle of the rainforest
Kitchen with nature close byKitchen with nature close by
Kitchen with nature close by

Grape vines were hanging down from the ceiling
Blow hole !Blow hole !
Blow hole !

When big waves come in under the cliffs they create pressure and blow out water thru holes in the cliffs. Hence, blow holes :)
Cave all to myself :)Cave all to myself :)
Cave all to myself :)

Found a free cave and this time I remembered to bring my flashlight. Almost had to walk on all four to get thru this passage


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb