There be gold in them there hills!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
February 16th 2008
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Haast Pass



When we started this trip we said "we'd try a bit of everything".
So when we got the opportunity to prospect for gold at a real mine in Kawaru Gorge - We just had to give it a go!


Only cost a couple of dollars and we did manage to find a few flecks!
(But don't get excited kids, it's not worth a lot.)


The whole place is set up to how it originally was, back when it was a viable mine.
Really quite interesting to see how the people lived in their little tins shacks and being able to see the mines etc.


It was fun and quite addictive, but I doubt if we could make a living at it!!
(But hey, not everyone can say they've panned for gold)




Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Changed my mind...Changed my mind...
Changed my mind...

Don't want to be a lumberjack now. I think I'll try gold mining..
Don't  fancy this one...Don't  fancy this one...
Don't fancy this one...

To high on the hill...
How about this one Skim..How about this one Skim..
How about this one Skim..

Room for two just like the tent...
Come on..Come on..
Come on..

I'm digging as fast as I can...
This is the one time...This is the one time...
This is the one time...

I could do with TNT ha ha...
That's it Skim..That's it Skim..
That's it Skim..

Wheel it down to the sluice...
Nope...Nope...
Nope...

No nuggets in here...
Out of my way!Out of my way!
Out of my way!

Let me at that gold....
"What do you mean?""What do you mean?"
"What do you mean?"

No gold in my pan! I was hoping for a pair of earrings at the very least!!!!!!
Don't worry Skim..Don't worry Skim..
Don't worry Skim..

I'll find you a pair of earrings...
Ooooops!Ooooops!
Ooooops!

Didn't mean to push them!
Oh no!Oh no!
Oh no!

Look what you've done now!!!
"Skid!""Skid!"
"Skid!"

Will you just behave!
"Will you please give me a hand to push it back up!""Will you please give me a hand to push it back up!"
"Will you please give me a hand to push it back up!"

"Let me get the photo first!" Puzzling World at Wanaka
Lake WanakaLake Wanaka
Lake Wanaka

A great place to eat our chicken & chips....
Lake HaweaLake Hawea
Lake Hawea

I think we'll spend the night here...
Great idea!Great idea!
Great idea!

Now can I stretch my legs? (And I don't mean walking down forest tracks either)
Oh no!!Oh no!!
Oh no!!

Not another swingbridge...


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb