Pole to Pole


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
February 19th 2007
Published: December 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Jump for Joy!Jump for Joy!Jump for Joy!

I'm off to Canada
NEWS: Had a crazy, disappointing, but uplifting week with the selection process. Basically, we have a great group of people and a pathetic state of organisation. I have been given a massive responsibility to make the expedition happen which will teach me a lot! A lot of us are here now with the sole purpose of committing time and energy to the cause, so that's an exciting prospect!
The expedition has been delayed another half year due to lack of funding!

Up until now I have been pretty flat out packing up my life into boxes and words for the people I love and preparing for many unknown challenges. As it turns out, there are more and more challenges at every turn with this Pole to Pole thing and I may be around B.C. for some time...

We are taking on an enormous task now, as a group, and I am thrilled about the opportunity to work and grow and learn with this amazing group of individuals we have here together. The challenge is making this group into a team!





7 Jan 07
I have been invited to be a part of Pole to Pole. That means I am off to Canada in February to meet others involved and sort out the roles we will be performing in the expedition...

Woooo hoooooo!!!!!!!!


I have posted a video of my rendition of the Pole to Pole challenge. View it at:










On Thursday 14th Dec, Jon and I completed a descent of the Waimak River by kayak from Arthur's Pass to the Pacific ocean. 150km in 15 hours!!


I have started the ball rolling to be part of a project to travel from the North Pole to the South Pole without motorised transport...

It is a big challenge and I am excited about where it takes me, not only physically, but socially and politically also!
So, check it out (link below) and be inspired. You should definitely join up!!

http://www.poletopoleleadership.com/site/TR?px=1053922&pg=personal&fr_id=1030


6 years ago, sitting in a garage in Christchurch with several friends of mine including Geology Joe, I conceived an idea; a dream. My dream was to complete a circum-navigation of the globe without using motorised transport. The journey would use as many different non-motorised transport methods as possible, covering as many different terrains as possible. The team would include a bunch of enthusiastic and talented people interested in learning about and conveying the message of our environment and its interactions with humans. Completing river descents from the tiniest mountain trickle to the ocean, we could gain insights into the natural evolution of a river, as well as the human impacts on it. Crossing mountain passes and deserts, we would see natural variations in weather and human interactions with these environments. We would document, film and photograph these observations to share our message with the world, while using a scientific understanding of processes to shed some light on how some of the negative effects may be changed...

My studies, my work, and travel have been the education process leading towards the start of this goal. Now is the time to start pursuing the dream...

The one aspect that seemed a little daunting to me was the initial steps of organising the logistics and resources for the dream.

Then I came across Pole to Pole. Here was an organisation planning basically exactly what I had proposed to myself as my dream. The logistics were organised, funding would be provided, I just had to be there to make the dream complete. It seemed almost too good to be true... and it was.

The logistics are mostly planned, and a team of motivated people has assembled. But the funding is absent and the project will need to be built up from ground level. This is my chance to be involved with something from its grass roots, learning every part of the process of putting big dreams into action. That is the reason I want to be part of it.

Time will tell where I stand with this whole thing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

What's more difficult than walking a slippery log?What's more difficult than walking a slippery log?
What's more difficult than walking a slippery log?

Nothing. But the north pole is not close to the south pole...
All geared up and with a team...All geared up and with a team...
All geared up and with a team...

It should be easy enough, right?


Tot: 0.436s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 21; qc: 122; dbt: 0.1098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb