Church Serving Week


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » West Coast
March 3rd 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This past week I was on Church Serving week. We were divided up in to smaller groups (4-6) and sent out to different churches to serve for the week. My group went to the West Coast to a small town called Refton (about 1000 people). I was sad to leave the “YWAM bubble” and my friends, but the people in Refton made it feel like home right away. The first day we spent washing windows, gardening and general cleaning for some of the elderly and single parents in the community. It was hard and dirty work. Taylar and I gave one lady and pedicure and had tea which was great chance to talk to her. After gardening for one woman she invited me in for some water, we ended up talking for an hour and I baby sat her two kids that night! The next day we helped out at the local high school’s sport’s day. I spent the day talking with the kids when they finished running the track. On Wednesday we organized the church’s after school program and youth group night. It was a lot of fun, we had a scavenger hunt, slip n slide and I had the opportunity to share some of my testimony. The next morning I went to the doctor. My eye had been red and bugging me since Sunday. The doctor told me my eye was ulcerated (which is bad) and she had to send me to the doctor in Christchurch (4 hour drive away). Jeremy and I hopped in the Van and we were off; we had to make it to the doctor by 4. We made it! The doctor examined my eye and informed me that one of the stitches on my cornea had come loose and was scratching my eye. She pulled the stitched out, gave me meds and made an appointment for next week. I stayed on the base to rest my eyes, and Jeremy went back to join the team for the last 3 days. There are some people still on base (staff) so I’m not all by myself. It was quite a scare but my eye is doing a lot better now. I still need your prayers, they are not 100% healed yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Pretty in PinkPretty in Pink
Pretty in Pink

Taylar and I!


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb