Phat 07


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » West Coast » Greymouth
January 1st 2007
Published: January 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This is the party! Three nights of celebrating the coming of the new year with New Zealands best drum and bass artists and a great group of kiwis. My friend Scotty and I drove up the west coast from Wanaka (about an 8 hour trip) to Inangahua on Friday in time for the preparty which was local DJS spinning at a bar in a tiny tiny town near where the festival was to be held begining the next day. Im pretty sure the town had never seen so many people or so much action and certainly never dealt with so much noise. I have never seen so many VW buses in one place! We camped in Scotty's truck for the night and got up early the next day to meet the other ten people in our group. Everyone made it to our designated meeting spot by 10 am (coming from all over NZ) but we still ended up waiting in line by the gate (along with thousands of other cars) for 9 hours!! It was long but luckily it was a nice day and all of our cars were in the que together so we just got out the lawn chairs and walked to the bottle shop (the cars actually werent moving at all...no drinking and driving don't worry) and it wasn't so bad. When we finaly got through the front gate we were given a camping spot directly in between the two stages. Our tents and bodies and ears with thudding and shaking for three days straight. OUCH. I loved being able to hang out at our tent circle and then wander over to the stages to dance and then wander around the booths and food carts when I was tired of that. There wasn't much sleeping involved but we made up for it after the festival at John's parents beautiful eco cottage on the coast.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

not so cute of me but Barney is a sexy man so I had to include him.not so cute of me but Barney is a sexy man so I had to include him.
not so cute of me but Barney is a sexy man so I had to include him.

I just remembered my eyes were swollen because I got bitten by sand flies on the first night and couldn't stop myself from scratching them so I looked red and puffy the whole time. My friends all thought it was very entertaining because I guess they all know that you really CANT scratch them but man they were just SOOOOOO itchy!


Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb