Day 77


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
January 16th 2011
Published: January 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Awake at 6.20am wide awake, called my mum and dad to tell them our news, and report back after the race. Also called my sister, too. We then pottered about a bit before the Post race awards ceremony, which was at 10.30am. Limped along there and afterwards I asked Felix, the chairman of the Challenge organization if he was going to the volunteers party so he could pass on my personal thanks to those who hung around so late to help me finish, and he said i’d be welcome to do so myself, please come along! Went to a café met up with everyone in there, Mark had to fly back today to be home for work on Monday. Came back home for a sleep and then headed into town for the volunteers party. I was asked to go on stage to say a few words to the 5-600 volunteers who were there, and I was able to single out those who had manned the drinks stations after dark, and also my 4 special helpers, Gill, Michelle, Sarah and Donna, and, as luck would have it, all 4 were there so I was able to speak to them, which was lovely. Saw a few other people I’d been helped out with on race day too, and generally was able to say thank you which was great. From there, I was also asked to draw the names for the spot prizes for the volunteers, which was great! We then headed back for a barbecue back at the batch, having found Helens parents when we popped over to return the stew bowl, so they came along too! Got a lift into town with Andy around 9.45 and we headed to the post race wrap up in the bar. Most amusingly as I was limping along to the bar one of the volunteers who was driving past wound down his window to shout keep going, youre nearly there, which had us in stitches!, We had some drinks, chatted to people, including the first and second placed ladies in the pro race, a few more volunteers, quite a few people came up to shake my hand and say well done, which was lovely and we then got a lift home with Darrel and his sister Kerry, so all was good with the world,


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb