Random acitivities in Wanaka


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
March 9th 2006
Published: March 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Have been sampling lots of random activities since I left the Stray bus (maybe those teenagers were a sensible influence after all!). First I went to glaciers and played in big spiky shoes at crawling round and walking on ice. Got a helicopter up there which was also very cool.
In Wanaka I've just been going mental and did mountain biking round the lake (soooo beautiful) - the tourists were all pointing at me like I was some some of local mentalist. Then did a bit od walking. Then learnt how to rock climb. This was amazing. I wore my spiderman watch especially and was trying very hard to be as good as spiderman himself, but I think it was more a job of hanging on for dear life. Especially on this massive boulder we had to practise on with no ropes. Then we were climbing up these massive things with just tiny ledges to hold onto. Eloise (my friend who I've been travelling with since Barrytown) was my belayer. She'd never done belaying or climbing either. She learnt very quickly how to belay when I decided to fall off a really high rock face on one of my first goes. My knees are all scraped, but otherwise no damage. Top ropes are good!
Heading down to Queenstown today. Plan is to do this massive canyon swing thing which is 100m high. Think it's going to be more scary than the skydive as the ground is closer, but hopefully I won't pancake myself. We're also planning a few drinks on Saturday night - apparently if you go to the pubs in the right order it's happy hour all night - woo hoo!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

holding up Wanaka tower with Eloise and Lizholding up Wanaka tower with Eloise and Liz
holding up Wanaka tower with Eloise and Liz

for CUAS people, Liz is ex LUAS - uh oh!


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0998s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb