Glacier hiking


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
March 24th 2007
Published: March 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So Recently I was in the town of Fraz Joseph which is famous for it's glacier. There is really not a lot to do in the town other than go on glacier hikes which was my main reason for stopping. I decided on the full day hike which ended up being 12 hrs long, which is a pretty long time to be on a block of ice. I also felt a little foolish flying 13 000 km and then paying to stand on snow and ice but what can you do? All in all it was a really good trip. We saw a lot of really dark blue ice and did a lot of digging through ice tunnels and squeezing through tight crevasis. I was also lucky to have done it on a nice day as it rain 300 days of the year and they average 8 m of snow. I also enjoyed pretending I was in cliffhanger or vertical limit with my ice axe although the guide seemed to have seen enough of it.

Currently I am in a town called Wanaka. It a really nice place and the drive here was amazing. I got my first real view of the sourthern alps and the town is surrounded by amazing scenery. I went on a 4 hr hike today and got some great views of the mountains. My next stop is Queenstown where I will hopefully be stopping and working for a while. It is also where I am planning to do my bungy jumping.. I am for sure doing one, but am considering a package deal which lets me do the three main jumps in the city. If you look up "nevis bungy" on youtube you can see the one I am planning on doing. It looks pretty nut but I am sure it will be good.
Talk to you later.
Jamie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 49; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb