In transit....Auckland to Te Anau (via Queenstown)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Te Anau
February 20th 2013
Published: February 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

The scenery on the flight to Queenstown is just out of this world, flying over the West coast of the North Island and then South Island. Approaching Queenstown we fly inland over the ‘Remarkables’ mountains and the view is just incredible. I had no idea flying into Queenstown would be so pretty, and I had a window seat – lucky, though any nervous flyers wouldn’t have enjoyed it so much, as it looked like we were going to crash into and land in the mountains.

With my flight landing at 4.05pm and the last bus to Te Anau (my destination) leaving a 4.45pm I was worried it might be too tight on time, so had two plans organised, one if I missed the bus and one if I didn’t. This was all irrelevant though, when I saw the size of Queenstown airport, and I was out waiting for the bus and 4.15pm. The bus (a little minibus) took around 2.5 hours to reach Te Anau passing vast turquoise lakes, mountains and open field. We pulled up at the first stop, and my first glimpse of Te Anau was over the lake, with the sun sparkling on it making it look glassy and totally magical.

I dumped my bag in the yha, and after my ham sandwich I had made earlier and banana for dinner, I wondered around by the lake and the one and only street containing shops to see what was around. For such a small place it has a large number of restaurants and gift shops, but tomorrow may present some more interesting parts to it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



28th February 2013

Wow
Wow Kate the pictures from your flight and the lake look amazing, this will convince Jeremy even more that he wants to go to New Zealand.

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0849s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb