Keepler Track - Day One


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Te Anau
November 19th 2006
Published: November 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Beach ForestBeach ForestBeach Forest

Beautiful beach forest full of ferns (and beach trees!)

Keepler Track - Day One



Today I started a three day walk in the South Island. The walk is called the Keepler Track and begins from a town called Te Anau. Each night you stay in large huts with other hikers. The journey, in short, was awesome....as you will see.

My 3 day walk begin quite sedately this morning. Walking through the landscaped gardens around the edge of Lake Te Anau. Many other tourists giving me odd looks since I was carrying a back pack that was just a little OTT for a wander round some landscaped gardens. Ha!

Anyhow, after about 45 minutes I had left the town well behind me and had arrived at the head of the lake, where you will find some huge "control" gates. It would be 3 days and a good few miles and many spectacular views before I saw these gates again (the walk is circular).

The weather was perfect, sunny but not too hot. Leaving the control gates behind I entered a beautiful beach forest. My path led along the far shore of Lake Te Anau and wound it's way for several miles through the forest. The
A Gap In the CanopyA Gap In the CanopyA Gap In the Canopy

A few trees taken out provides a great view of Te Anau. Pritty tiny looking, but it is there!
walking was easy. I stopped for lunch just before I started climbing.

I was still within the fabulous beach forest, expect that now I was climbing up reasonably steep switch back single track. Todays climb (perhaps the biggest of the 3 days) would take about 4-5 hours. However, just when you think you are doing okay some kiwi's (locals) come running past you. Nutters!!! If you've got all that energy you can carry my bloody bag! Ha! I later discovered that there is some sort of cross country marathon that takes place in these parts and that the runners that were passing me were in training for that.

On the way up the canopy is broken in two places. Each places affords you a superb view of the lake and Te Anau itself. From the higher view point, looking down to Te Anau, you think you are looking at a topographical map rather than an actual town. It's great!

The higher I climbed the colder it got and the shorter the trees became. Eventually myself and my Israeley walking partner (a seriously cool guy called Henry - pronounced a little like the French foot ball player) climbed
Not A Bad ViewNot A Bad ViewNot A Bad View

Looking back towards Lake Te Anau, with the snow capped southern alps in the back ground. Well some one has to go to hese places and take the photo's.
out of the tree line to a a subperb view - straight out of Lord of The Rings. It was just spectacular and for (that absoluetly loves stuff like this) it was like being a kid in a Candy shop!. But hey, don't take my word for it. Go there yourself! (or, at least, look at my photos).

Anyhow, as it would turn out the "amazing" (to use Henry's favourite word!) Keepler track was by no means finished with it's seanic feast. In fact it was just getting warmed up!!!

After a further hour of climbing Henry and I could see the Luxor Hut - where we would spend the first night. OMG!!!! What a spot. I'm sure they must have filmed a bond movie here at some point. Perfection, lmost by definition is unobtainable, but this place has to come mighty close. Words won't do it justice so just look at the photos and enjoy.

I watched the sun set over these snow capped mountains and the snow turns bright orange just before it passes the horizon. Then, a little later, the first stars become visible. By this point you are bloody cold and it is
Snow CappedSnow CappedSnow Capped

A Snow capped mountain as viewed from the Luxor Hut. (where we stayed on our first night).
time for some tea!

The Luxor Hut is one of the best places I have ever been and for those that love the outdoors I thoroughly reccommend it. Check out the photos.....

-- Keepler Track Day One END --




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Made It! - Luxor Hut at Sun DownMade It! - Luxor Hut at Sun Down
Made It! - Luxor Hut at Sun Down

After a good days walk we make it to the 1500M high Luxor Hut, get the kettle on and admire the view. I've had worse days! Ha!


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb