A Canadian in New Zealand-Days 25 - Golden Bay, Wharariki Beach, and Takaka Hill


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Takaka
April 25th 2016
Published: April 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Spent my day in the Golden Bay area ā€“ the most north-westerly part of the South Island. Although only a 98 km drive from Motueka, the drive can take more than 2 hours due to the infamous Takaka Hill. I should have known something was up when I read the sign saying that Takaka Hill is open. Open? Actually it is a 27 km highway from hell. Narrow roads, no shoulders, blind ā€˜sā€™ turns, weaving and winding, up and down, it was a tense period. Eventually I made my way to Farewell Spit and Puponga Farm Park. My main activity for the day was to explore Wharariki Beach and Archway Islands. It is the most spectacular coastline in the region with its caves, caverns, arches sand dunes and of course long stretch of beach. It is accesable via a short 20 minute hike over farmers pastures with if course the grazing sheep. The beach did not disappoint. Sand dunes everywhere, long stretches of sandy beach, interesting rock formations in the water and at either end of the beach cliff rocks. When I was there the tide was going out and of course access to the various archways are tide-dependent. Not seeing any arches at the right side of the beach I walked the entire length to the left, a distance of perhaps a km, and there found the arches and caves I was seeking. There are at least 3 arches in the rock that you can walk through when the tide is low; walk entirely through the rocks to the beach on the other side. There are many more arches but some so small it would be difficult (and dangerous) to try. Since it was not full low tide, I probably missed the opportunity of seeing other accesable parts that may indeed be hiding around the corner. In total I spent about 4 hours exploring the beach and rocks. It was a sunny day although quite windy as I suppose it is there most of the time. A wonderful way to spend a day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 16; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb