Bike and Hike Day


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Southland » Queenstown
February 17th 2006
Published: February 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I got a late start today as I headed out for a ride along the lake to the trailhead for the Greenstone track. I was told there was a short loop hike that linked the Greenstone track to Lake Rere and Elfin Bay. So I headed out on another beautiful sunny hot day. I rode 7.5 miles along the lake on a rolling gravel road. The views were stunning. I got to see the mountains that I had bused along the day before from this side of the lake. Also I got glimpses of Mt. Aspiring to the Northwest. A beautiful glaciated peak in the Southern Alps.

I arrived at the trailhead and found many cars and about 2 dozen trampers. I expected the trail to be crowded but I think they were all waiting to catch the shuttle out at the end of their hike. I hid my bike and then headed off on the Greenstone trail. The trail follows the Greenstone river valley upward. It winds through native bush of beech trees and evergreens. At times it reminded me of the Green River Gorge and what a trail along the Gorge near where I live in Washington State would be like. It also reminded me of the White River trail near Enumclaw Washington. It had a northwest feel with just a dash of middle earth thrown in. The trail dropped down into a suspension bridge and then wound through a valley of brown grasses. The peaks towered above me in all directions. The trail then headed up river again. Finally I came to the turn off to the lake. I crossed another suspension bridge and the climbed on the otherside of the river. The terrain on this side was more open and less forested so I was able to see more of the river and surrounding peaks. The bush was lush dark green along the hillsides and crowned with rugged rock.

I arrived at Lake Reres. Not much to write home about so I stopped to soak my feet and then I was off again. The next section was the best part of the hike. The trail went through stands of old second growth beech forest and had a mythical feel to it. The bird song was incredible. Different birds filling the forest with sound. I think that is one of the unique things about New Zealand is the sound of their many forest birds.

The forest trail led down another valley and brought me out to Elfin Bay. A beautiful surreal blue bay surrounded by native bush. It definitely had magical quality to it. The trail wound around the bay and then headed across a plateau along a pasture fence. Once again I scared sheep into running many directions. You don't have to do anything they just run when you walk by. I could hear all kinds of crashing in the small trees along the hillside.

The trail ended where it started and I crossed over another suspension bridge to the main trail. I somehow heard 4km trail. A nice short hike. I've done that a few times on this trip. Anyway it ended up being between 6 and 8 miles and took me 4 hours to hike. It was worth it but I'm definitely tired and sore. I put my ipod on to get me jazzed for the 7.5 mile bike ride back to Kinloch. Sheryl Crow and then the B-52s kept me peddling like crazy to get back for dinner.

Great day. I'm headed off for an over night hike tomorrow and then back here for two days before heading to the coast.

Update in a couple of days.

Backyard Adventure Girl

Lisa

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb