Extreme Queenstown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
December 30th 2013
Published: December 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I am on my fourth and final night in Queenstown and it is by far the busiest place I have been. Apparently this is the place to be on New Year's Eve. Even if that wasn't the case, I'm sure a lot of people would be here since the surroundings are beautiful. (I feel like I am getting repetitive about the scenery, but it's just all so nice. Be prepared to be overwhelmed with pictures in a week! )

The weather has continued to cooperate with me (despite a forecast of 3 days of rain, we had 2 and a half days of sun ) and I am staying at a very comfortable bed and breakfast with the most friendly, welcoming hosts.

Queenstown is also known for its adventure sports. There are dozens of extreme activities to try; however, I didn't really participate this time. I think I'm finally starting to get a little tired, and I've already done what many consider to be the best rafting on the south Island. That's not to say that I didn't do anything - I went for a jet boat ride, I did the gondola luge a couple of times, I went on a seven hour hike, and I did my laundry. So I was still a little bit extreme.

Today's pictures are of Lake Tekapo (a stop on the bus ride from Christchurch ) and then of Queenstown from the top of the gondola.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.385s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.3214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb