Snowboard Legend


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
June 20th 2006
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Slept in and almost missed my bus out of Franz Josef, not my fault, no one in room again to wake me, anyways we got stuck behind a bus in a snowstorm, as you'd expect instead of throwing snowballs I helped Crunch (driver) put our snowchains on. More driving through highly attractive south island moutainville. Came across Lake Wanaka which had me choking at it's rugged beauty.

Wanaka was a hit, esp the hotel, not a hostel a hotel, ensuit, tv in room, proper comfy beds with thick duvets. Sat by a big fire and watched 'top gun' on dvd, can't afford to be a party animal all the time. Had an early one but was awoken at 3am when the other guys came back, one of the girls got into my bed with me (she must of been hammered) bet she didn't know about how little I wear in bed, saw the funny side though, you can't me a misrable old git all of the time. (just most of the time)

Left lovely Wanaka, saying goodbye to our Snowboard Homy Simon, and went to the AJ Hackett Centre, the home of bungy, did not do for budgetery reasons
Franz Josef - VillageFranz Josef - VillageFranz Josef - Village

was tempted to stay
(okay I was too f**king scared) Look I've skydived, why would I waste my time bungying?

Then arrived in Queenstown, the adventure capital of New Zealand, if not the world. Booked into to an independent cosy little place called the Butterfly Lodge. Met a girl allready who happened to once go out with someone from my year at school (how random is that?)

Today was superb, got up the mountain and did a couple of snowboarding lessons, have advanced nicely so going back up tommorrow to advance further, was turning etc but my knees etc are in agony.

If you wish to know why i'm snowboarding, well it's winter, I'm in south island new zealand, it's just got to be done, and it's something cool i can do if I come back to the UK. (sorry did I say if, I mean when, sigh)
Queenstown is where it's at, okay it's baltic and back in the UK is heatwave but who cares when you're throwing you're body down a mountainside.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.2102s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb