Karaoke and skydiving


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
June 8th 2008
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I know that is rather a random heading, but yes I have a rather funny story to tell that goes along with it (bear with me and you'll see...)

So we all got ready for our big night out in Queenstown - spent most of the night in Altitude Bar where we got some free shots for arriving that day on Dan's bus, then headed quickly to World Bar for their world-famous teapot cocktails. It wasn't really happnin' in World Bar, so after one teapot, we headed back to Altitude for some karaoke - yey! And yes, I was dying to get up on the stage and sing something (only once I'd had enough to drink though!) so me and one of the girls from our bus got up and sang Manic Monday...and about two songs later I got up again and sang a Kelly Clarkson song...and a bit later hopped up on the stage with some friends to join in another song (who knows what that one was by that time - and who really cared?!) Anyway, I'll get to the point - the winner of the karaoke was drawn from a hat at 1 'o' clock, and guess what? It was me and I'd won...........................................................

A FIFTEEN THOUSAND FOOT SKYDIVE!!!! ARGGHHHHHHH!!!!

Well, I didn't really know what to say - although I was rather excited (I remember waking up the next morning thinking it was a dream!) and I had been contemplating doing a skydive - just didn't know whether I had the money - now I had no excuse! We slept in to recover from our hangovers the next morning and didn't do much that day, but the following day brought my skydive (and bundles of nervous thoughts with it too!) We had a half-hour briefing, then were taken to the airfield to watch several other people jumping out of the plane first, so that we could all see how safe it was. There were actually several families there that had sent their kids up to do it (with their kids being about 10 years old) so if they weren't scared, why should I be?!

Soon enough, it was my turn, and I was kitted and harnessed up and told 'Just like a banana' for when we jumped out of the plane (they actually showed us a picture of a banana before we got into the plane -I think it helped the Chinese couple who went up with me!) I just remember it being very windy as I got into the plane (and since I got in last too, it meant I was first out - great!) The flight was amazing though - my instructor pointed out Mount Cook (NZ's highest mountain), Franz Josef, the Fox Glacier, and where Lake Wanaka was - we could see for miles! The next thing I knew, my instructor was giving me oxygen from a tube, and about a minute later, the door to the plane opened, my photographer dropped out, and I was shuffling my feet towards the edge. I didn't really have a choice about jumping, but that was the most terrifying feeling in the world as we flipped over and out of the plane, hurtling towards the ground in freefall. The wind was so cold against my face, and I just remember thinking I had to try and smile so that the DVD and pictures came out well! We were in freefall for about 60 seconds, and once our parachute opened, I have to say I enjoyed the ride a lot more! Still, the scenery was amazing, and the feeling was exhilarating and although I almost wish I'd been up there for longer, I was rather relieved when I was back on solid ground (although I was so wobbly I could hardly stand up!)

I have to say, I really enjoyed it, but I'm not sure I'd do it again! But then again, that'll teach me to do karaoke in public!!! (And yes I will show you my DVD when I get back!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Freefall over QueenstownFreefall over Queenstown
Freefall over Queenstown

I'm trying to put my thumbs up but it's not really working!


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb