Queenstown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
January 17th 2004
Published: April 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cardona Hotel, Crown RangesCardona Hotel, Crown RangesCardona Hotel, Crown Ranges

The Cardona Hotel, Crown Range, on the way to Queenstown is a great place to stop for a break
I wake around eight after a wierd nights sleep with the sun flowing straight into my tent and sparkling over the lake. Really beautfiful and few sandflies. Its very quiet here.

I breakfast on a bacon roll and a cup of tea ... isnt' life wonderful ... New Zealand bacon is a bit more fatty but still difficult with no oil. The suns' already very hot and its only 8.30. I return the mug to next door, thats, two ive lost now, my favourite tin enamel one is on the Banks, somewhere and the Kiwi mug was left at the Crayfish Van in Jackson I think.

I reflect on last nights' dreams ... adventure dreams and decide it must be all the excitement of the travel as I dont usually dream so much.

I go for a swim and a wash in the Lake which is very cold but I am soon interupted by large family visiting for the day. After the swim I feel a lot better and rest in the sun taking it all in and planning my day. I must get to town today to sort out what activities I will do, and get photos
Lake WakitipuLake WakitipuLake Wakitipu

Camping Ground a few minutes outside Queenstown.
onto CD and get some supplies.

In town I book a bungy for tomorrow at the original site for AJ Hackett, followed by Jet Boating and White Water Rafting. I spend more time in town than I planned so I dont have time for the walked I wanted to and head back to the site for a bit of maintenance on the bike, and I need to fix the nightlight in the tent too. The daytrippers have left to be replaced by Party Goers. I'd forgotten it was friday night so decide to have a quick meal and head into town for a few beers. I get talking to my neigbours and they recommend Doubtful Sound so I never get to town and eventually fall asleep to the sound of AC/DC. Sound!!!








Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Lake MokeLake Moke
Lake Moke

Lake Moke, few miles oustide Queenstown.


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0881s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb