Found work and had a tramping experience


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
July 15th 2007
Published: July 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Found work and had a tramping experience

 Australasia » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown By Wanderlust At Heart
July 15th 2007
Cory
Week of July 8-14

This week was a big week for both Nick and myself. We really hit the streets hard to find jobs that fit our criteria. Our working criterion consisted of - work only 4 days per week; work only 25-30 hours per week. The first two days of the search we walked into every restaurant, pub, café, and clothing store that looked semi-interesting to work at. The next day we received a phone call from the Sofitel Hotel for us to come in for an interview. Long story short, we were both offered a position that fit our working criteria. We were both hired on as servers/bartenders for the 5 star restaurant ‘Vie’, which is associated with the Hotel.

In respect to our first tramping experience in New Zealand, I am referring to us hiking to the top of the Skyline Gondola. The term ‘Tramping’ is the word for hiking here in Kiwi land. It took us almost 2 hours to reach the top. The views from the top were simply amazing…just check out the photos.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



15th July 2007

"Remarkable"
Cory--Yeah, the blog is up and running! I am glad to hear you and Nick found work and are now able to focus on fully enjoying life in your new "home". Your adventurous spirit and courage AMAZES me, and I am so proud of both of you for embarking on this incredible journey. The pics from the plane are incredible, especially the one of the coastline of New Zealand--WOW!!! Take care, keep in touch, and God bless! :)Linds
15th July 2007

YOU ONLY GO AROUND ONCE
FIRST OF ALL...HOW COULD YOU NOT BE OFFERED A JOB. WOMEN WILL COME TO THE HOTEL AND BAR JUST TO LOOK AT YOU. SECOND OF ALL..WHAT AN OPPORTUNITY..HAVE FUN AND STAY SAFE........LOVE YA
15th July 2007

"Remarkable"
Thanks, Linds...I will do my best to keep this blog updated. Can't wait to hear about your upcoming journey as well!
16th July 2007

Proud
Cory, I am Proud of you. I have to tell you that I am Jealous. I have this same drive to travel, but I have chosen a different path that include a Wife, Child and Money. It is great that you are doing this all while you still can. Get cold, Jump in some of that Ice Cold water, Camp in the wild, Don't work to hard and come back ALIVE. Don't be brave, Be smart as I know that you are. In Hoc, Vescovo, Jr.
16th July 2007

Stunning view!
Sounds like you're all set to go! Nice flat, got a job and an exciting area to explore! You deserve it! Take care and HAVE FUN!
16th July 2007

Amazing!
Cory, when you first told me you were going to do this, I thought you were nuts. Now, that you are over there having the time of your life, I wish I could do the same. The pictures are incredible and it sounds like you guys are all set until you move on to another country. Enjoy every minute of this! Can't wait to read the next blog entry! IHSV - Bradley
16th July 2007

Awesome
Cory--Man it sounds like things are going great!!! The pictures are so beautiful, man I wish I could be there to see it in person. I am sure you guys are having a blast. Enjoy and be safe!!! --Justin
16th July 2007

I think I figured it out!
Cory, I finally had time to get on this site and figure out how to navigate thru it. What a wonderful thing a "blog" is. We can all live vicariously thru you! The pictures are breath taking and I can only imagine how it must be in person. Have fun, take care and keep the pictures coming. Love to you both and God Speed!!
17th July 2007

More coffee , tea, or me?
Hey Cor, just smile your way through every meal ( 5yrs of braces should do the trick) I know the patrons will enjoy their dining experience with my well-educated and handsome son. Hey you never put a dish on a table at home....Oh..... you had me! Love you sooooooooo much! Mama

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb