Queenstown and Bungy!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
March 10th 2007
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

OK......before I start this entry, I told alot of you that I wanted to do a bungy, even though I was really scared, I still wanted to do it. For most of the journey on the Kiwi Experience bus we had been talking about who was and who wasn't going to do a bungy. I initially just wanted to do one off a bridge with water beneath me, and that was enough. But........sitting with the boys who had already decided that they were going to do the 'Thrillogy' made me think, what they can do, I can do too, so I signed up for it.

The 'Thrillogy' is 3 bungy jumps, the first being the one at Kawarau Bridge, the worlds original bungy jumping site founded by AJ Hackett. So, at 43 metres I stood on the bridge with my friend Teoh. He gave me a hug and I waddled to the edge of the platform, I had tears in my eyes and everything my body was telling me was "what the hell am I doing"? Everyone on the Kiwi bus was watching from a viewing platform cheering me on. So as the countdown started 5,4,3,2,1 I dived off and fell, and fell, and fell, and screamed and screamed and screamed, and then I hit the water right up to my waist - that was a bit of a shock! And then I bounced up. It was great!!! The adrenilin was undescribable!

Now surely that would have been enough?! I'd done a bungy, right? Why do anymore?

Well, two hours later I was on a bus with 22 hardcore bungy lovers from the Kiwi bus, 18 guys and 4 girls. We were going to do the 'Nevis Highwire' bungy, at 134 metres it's the 2nd highest in the world. The 45 minute bus journey there was a very quiet affair, everyone nervous with sweating palms and glances at eachother as in to say, I hope you're as nervous as I am! The one we'd done earlier was very tame compared to this one, and as the bungy came into sight we were all saying a few choice words under or breath. What was annoying was they started with the heaviest first and worked their way down to the lightest, so I was in the last 4. It was a long wait, but once we were up there and the adrenilin going it was fine, and I had my friends Robbie and Emma with me so we looked after eachother. This was by far my favourite bungy, the fall was great and the bounces were fun.

That night we all went out in lovely Queenstown, I love this place the most out of everywhere I've been in NZ so far. So as it was our first night out there we made it a big one, and when I say big one, we were drinking and dancing all night, and I got in at 6am. Completely forgetting that I had my final bungy that day!

So, very hungover, and after napping all day it got to 6pm and I made my way up the gondala to 'The Ledge' bungy with Robbie. Robbie is 18, Scottish, hilarious and scared of nothing at all. Whereas I was very nervous that day, I wasn't in any sort of mood to be throwing myself off a ledge. What was worse was we were the only 2 people bungying, and there was a group of tourists who had been waiting for someone to watch, plus a group of our friends had come for support too. So the pressure was really on. Robbie went first, fearless as ever. Then it was my turn. I ran and was about to jump and I stalled and stopped...worst thing to do! I just couldn't do it, but I had to, I couldn't possibly chicken out! So I ran, and kind of fell backwards and let out a terrifying scream. Really didn't enjoy that one!

But, I'd done the Thrillogy, got the t-shirt, got the DVD and photos. So I never have to do it again. Although, I have a feeling that I will!




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Me driving the Kiwi Ex busMe driving the Kiwi Ex bus
Me driving the Kiwi Ex bus

well...pretending to anyway
Safely back to the top..Safely back to the top..
Safely back to the top..

don't look too traumatised?!


16th March 2007

hiya...
...Alright flower? been reading your blog with great interest now, thought I'd best write a well-wishing comment. Very jealous of all your exploits, but did giggle to myself when I heard the spider story....wooooos! Can't believe you actually went skydiving, good girl... ..till next time, take care and stay outta trouble...x

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb