to the south island


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
January 12th 2010
Published: January 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

i woke early this morning and said my goodbyes to the Monicas. Had breakfast and a "flat white" at the coffee shop before heading to the Te Papa museum. I only had about an hour to explore here, so I headed straight for the metalsmithing exhibit. Here it seems that art museums are not really just about art, but instead combine art with interactive learning displays. Kinda like a combination of the St. Loius Science Center and an art museum.
I made it to the ferry at the last possible minute, and settled in for the 3 hour ride. The sea was super choppy, and before long I was on my knees in the ladies room. For the rest of the voyage I napped in a booth of the cafe, waking briefly to snap a few pics of the Cook Staright. It was pretty rainy, so I am hoping for better picture opportunities on my return trip next month.
Picton is a charming little town that I hope to explore more tomorrow. This evening I spent searching for a vehicle and doing laundry and such.
I think I may stay for another night, as my chances of finding a car here are probably best. The hostel is also quite charming, with brightly colored bungalows and cute gardens to relax in.
I am tempted to do some hiking or other exploring ad this is the gateway to the Marlborough Sounds which has to be one of the most beautiful places in the world...

Advertisement



13th January 2010

Hey Peggy! Looks like you are having a great time! What do you mean by find a car? Are you going to buy one to travel around in or rent one?

Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb