Adrenalin capital? Pass us the cake


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Queenstown
March 20th 2005
Published: March 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hellooo!!

Tis Rach B here, have been a bit slack about writing these long and winding passgaes, that tell you just how much time we have on our hands now that we're not working!!! Anyhoo, we're back together now, which is cool, because now when we both eat cake and ice cream, we don't feel so guilty.

A couple of days after Rach F's red jump suit moment, I too donned the super figure enhancing garb and I think I might have fallen out of the plane actually, not jumped. But that's merely a detail. Unlike Rach, who got to see her fellow passengers fall out of the plane before it was her turn, I got to go first. Lucky me. I do have photos and a dvd (and a t-shirt...yeah I got everything), and will download them onto here soon, and my face is a picture of pure fear. White as a sheet. My tandem master engineered it quite well, so that it wasn't until I was one of the last left standing outside the plane that I realised I was going to be the last one on, first one out. Needless to say, several expletives followed this, yeah really. Great. But really, it was great. Not too sure I enjoyed the freefalling, but when the parachute opened, and it was quiet again and you got a good look around, it was pretty cool.

That night, I too headed for Mulligan's (everywhere you go there are irish people and an irish pub) and the holiest of meat market clubs, the HOLY COW.

Several days later I arrived in Wellington and met up with Rach for the first time since we'd gone our separate ways. Had a nice day mooching and eating more cake (we're getting pretty good at it), watched the Motorcycle Diaries and drank too many whiskey & coke's cos they were only $3 (about 1 pound 10p).

Next day Rach F headed down to the South Island, and I was super geeky and wen on the Lord of the Ring's tour, which I did get a little over excited about...eeek! Anyhoo, it was pretty cool, saw Peter Jackson's house, he has one of the oscars sitting in the window, and saw the Weta studios and a piece of the King Kong scenery - very exciting. The guide was very knowledgeable and told loads of interesting stories, but because of the way they cut and paste the movies, visiting the locations they used didn't really remind you of the scenes they were home to. You really had to use your imagination.

We're going to go see "Be Cool" in a mo, so I'll sign off now. Will be back soon update you on the goings on in Queenstown and the Bay of Islands, Cape Reinga and the fabulous Hundertwasser Public toilets in Kawakawa.

Lots of love,

Rach & Rach xxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb