New Year Excitement


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Queenstown
December 30th 2005
Published: February 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I was lucky enough to stay with some relations in their holiday home in Queenstown over New Year. My cousin owns a river surfing business which is where crazy adrenaline junkies go down grade 4 rapids with only a body board for protection.

Despite deep rooted fears and serious misgivings I was also signed up to go on a Serious Fun River Surfing trip - I was convinced I would probably drown or least need to be rescued at some point in the 2 ½ hour adventure. There was the bonus of some rather good looking guides in wetsuits and I knew that my cousin wouldn’t let me get in too much trouble - after all, it would look really bad for business. You’ll be amazed to read that I did actually manage to surf a wave on the rapid, although it felt like being in a washing machine on high spin. I survived the grade 4 rapids that were so scary I had to close my eyes and hope for the best, dodging dangerous river stuff left, right and centre. I have to admit floating down the calm parts of river on the board were the most enjoyable coupled with making it out of the last section alive!

After a red bull and hot dog to replenish the energy lost kicking for 3 hours we went home for a New Year’s Eve supper and then fantastic views of the fireworks from the deck. Queenstown NYE fireworks aren’t quite Sydney but Auld Lang Syne afterwards made up for it!

Advertisement



21st February 2006

cool.
I am very jealous.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb