My First Overseas Job Assignment


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Queenstown
December 9th 2005
Published: December 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Auckland International AirportAuckland International AirportAuckland International Airport

Arrived at Auckland after a sleepless flight. Waiting to board domestic to Queenstown!
It feels really funny to be writing this all over again especially when it happened more than a year ago. But i reckoned since i've got the photos, why not?

It was last June, 2004.

Boy was i excited at the thought of going NZ for my FIRST EVERY FREAKING JOB ASSIGNMENT.

Perhaps it aint such a big deal to most peeps, but i worked really hard for the chance.
Afterall, im not that super duper well to do to trot the world on a personal trip basis.

It was a important assignment for me as well. Being the first one, i must say it went successfully enough to propel me to other overseas assignments til today.

Still remembered it was Mich's 21st bday party. It clashed with my gala dinner night. Had to get Jackie's help to arrange for flowers to be delivered to her. I remember calling Mich that night. She didn't pick up and i didn't lock my keypad after that, which led to my phone making lotsa long distance calls to her without me knowing. Only got to know when i received my phone bill. Damn. Ok, i shall not talk about
Snow covered mountain topsSnow covered mountain topsSnow covered mountain tops

The first view that greeted me from my plane itself.
such mundane stuff.

It was my first ever "long" flight. I made a dumb mistake about the time difference, spending my whole time watching movies after movies on the inflight entertainment. I thus suffered a terrible case of jetlag after i arrived.

It was also my first ever "winter" experience. The temperature was about 5-10 degrees celsius. I was well equipped with my Mango trench coat. Hehe. I remember too that i was super excited to see puffs of smoke/air coming out from my mouth as i speak/breathe.

It was a sure sign that the weather was cold!!!

Ok, i was really new to all these stuff back then.

Queenstown's totally picturesque. The land where Lord of The Rings was filmed, every part of it looks like a postcard, without any need for photoshopping.

It was towards winter season then. With clear blue skies, beautiful lakes, cool weather, it was such a pretty sight, giving a surreal vibe to all around. I made a silent promise that i will consider Queenstown to be my future honeymoon venue, that is if the weather is right and if a groom is in sight.

Time for
More awesome viewMore awesome viewMore awesome view

If the previous picture's not enough, here's another WOW picture!
the pictures! I miss this place already.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

A walk around townA walk around town
A walk around town

Started exploring the town after touching down. It looks as if i super imposed myself to a postcard right?
From another angleFrom another angle
From another angle

Here's another "super imposed" picture.
A typical day in townA typical day in town
A typical day in town

How downtown looks like in Queenstown. Bery slow and peaceful.
FireplaceFireplace
Fireplace

The fireplace in my villa. Can't believe i actually have the chance to utilise it in my lifetime.
Spacious KitchenSpacious Kitchen
Spacious Kitchen

A bery nice and well equipped kitchen. Heritage is superb. I dun mind becoming a homemaker if my kitchen looks as neat as this.
Bedroom BalconyBedroom Balcony
Bedroom Balcony

Can you imagine waking up to a sight like this every morning? I can't. I'll keep sleeping. Won't wake up. Probably this is a good place for retirement.
Yummy Yummy!Yummy Yummy!
Yummy Yummy!

Headed to town for a good dinner before the event starts. Im salivating just by looking at the dishes. That's Roger, Mira, Melissa and myself.
Frosted GrassFrosted Grass
Frosted Grass

Woke up the next morning to the sight of grasses with a tinge of white.
Skyline GondolaSkyline Gondola
Skyline Gondola

Welcome Dinner. Took the gondola up to the top! I miss my rebonded hair.
Traditional Maori PerformanceTraditional Maori Performance
Traditional Maori Performance

A little overwhelming at the beginning. But i soon got used to it.
En route to Helicopter RideEn route to Helicopter Ride
En route to Helicopter Ride

In the middle of nowhere, with the wind howling like mad.
SNOW!SNOW!
SNOW!

Reaches mountain top after a rather choppy ride. I see snow for the first time in my life. I was trying to curb the overly excited look on my face by smiling really calmly.
SNOWBALL!SNOWBALL!
SNOWBALL!

I can no longer curb my excitement.
Biker ChickBiker Chick
Biker Chick

Ok, i admit it. I was attempting to be one.
Coronet PeakCoronet Peak
Coronet Peak

It was raining the whole day. Snow was pretty wet and slimy. Bad time to attempt skiing.
Dinner after FAILING to skiDinner after FAILING to ski
Dinner after FAILING to ski

My cheeks look damn puffed up. Food was ok only. Didn't look too good huh.
Sheeps Galore!Sheeps Galore!
Sheeps Galore!

Bleat bleat! This was at Peregrine Winery.
The Sheeps & IThe Sheeps & I
The Sheeps & I

I really do love them.


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb