Where Do I Go From Here?


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Dunedin
February 7th 2006
Published: February 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

That is a question I've been mulling around in my mind today. 28 days left. That seems like a long time but not when you have to earn each mile peddling on a bicycle. I've spent today in a blissful state of laziness and contemplation. Should I go south to the Catlins or should I skip it and go right to Lake TeAnua for sea kayaking and a lakeside view? Hmmm, penquins or giant waterfalls? I haven't left the hostel today as all roads lead down and then back up a steep climb. I'm trying to give my body a rest. I did managed to venture down to get groceries yesterday so I'm well stocked.

Yesterday was the Whaitangi Treaty holiday here in NZ. On my journey to a grocery store I heard 3 incredibly talented Maori women singing some incredible songs. I asked if they had a CD. It was enough to stop me for awhile to listen. The Octagon, which is the Dunedin town center was a buzz with music, dancing, and booths. I love the cities here. They are so relaxing and easy to enjoy.

Tomorrow I have to get out to book my bus out of Dunedin to either the start of my adventure in the Catlins or to Lake Te Anua. I also need to pick up a few odds and ends. Also while I'm at it I'm going to spend some more time touring some of the incredible architecture in this city. It has that grand european feel. Large stone buildings with lots of ornate carvings and steeples. All the old houses along the hillsides are lovely. Reminds me of Capitol hill or Wallingford in Seattle. It also reminds me of Kingston Ontario where my aunt and uncle live. Dunedin is a college town and it has that feel to it.

Oh, did I say lazy day? I watched a DVD, slept, did some laundry, read some, looked at maps and generally made sure I took the day off. Sometimes its so easy to say, well I could walk downtown and just.......Nope, it can wait until tomorrow. I'll try to find an internet cafe that can upload photos. No promises but I'll try. If you want some photos of NZ so a search on the travel blog on New Zealand photos. There are quite a few.

Hmmm, time for another nap........

Take Care

Backyard Adventure Girl

Lisa



Advertisement



8th February 2006

Not attending Expo
Hi Lisa, You're obviouly having a great time, so I can't tempt you with the opportunity to be a volunteer EMT at the Bike Expo Youth Zone stunt jumping area. I understand. I'm so glad you're getting to wander and see/do cool things in NZ. I loved it when I went. A real vacation don't you think? You mentioned architecture. If you get the chance a visit to Napier on the North Island, it has lots of very cool Art Deco architecture, since the city was rebuilt after a massive earthquake in 1931. Here's a website. http://www.napier.govt.nz/index.php?cid=napier/history/hi_gen On the south island I enjoyed horse back riding and kayaking at the northern tip and walking the Franz Joseph Glacier. Don't slip! Have lots more fun in the 28 remaining days! I look forward to more stories when you get home. Jack
8th February 2006

Which Direction??
Hi Lisa, I hope that you have recovered from you stomach illness. In regards to where you go next, I don't know much about the Catlins, I am actually going there in a few weeks myself for the first time, however I can vouch for Te Anau,its a nice relaxing town, and the road to Milford Sound is really scenic, probably even more so on a bicycle. Just be aware if you haven't heard already, that the 'Haste Pass' and the road up the west coast (if you head in that direction) is very hilly and winds up, down and around mountains for a good 200-300km until you get close to Hokitika, I would imagine that it would take a good 7-10 days to ride up the west coast (depending on how many km's or miles as you would say, you ride each day), and thats without stopping for rest days. "May the adventure never end" Cheers. Dave

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb