Oamaru


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Oamaru
March 3rd 2013
Published: March 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today after waking up feeling fairly ill, I had John summon Deb who came immediately with a plethora of drugs to help me get ready for our day's journey to Omaru. By the time everyone had breakfast (I didn't dare), we were on the way to Omaru which was 250 km (about 135 miles). We stopped along the way at a nice little town called Timaru and had lunch. I was feeling okay by then so I ordered a bowl of mushroom soup. (BIG MISTAKE). After checking out the Farmer's Market down by the water, we headed south again to the town of Omaru where we would spend the night in a 3-bedroom house. It was really cute and had plenty of space for us. Everyone was excited to drop our things off and go exploring, that is everyone but me. I knew I had to go to bed so I could kick this bug. So John, Deb and Greg left and went to an area of the city where there were beautifully restored Victorian buildings. They really enjoyed walking through them. John said most of the buildiings were original art works like "The Lazy Cat" pottery pieces or original art works and a jewelery collection on the third floor of a converted wool warehouse. When they got back to the house to get me to go see the Yellow-eyed penguins and dinner, I had to graciously decline. I honestly cannot remember ever feeling so sick. While they were gone, I rested some more and by late evening felt a little bit better. When they returned again, they said they saw two "Yellow-eyed penguins, very rare indeed. We have some big days coming up so I need to be well. Tomorrow we travel to Invercargil which is at the southern tip of the South Island. Our plan was to leave by 8:00.

Advertisement



5th March 2013

Vacation
Hi George & John Sorry you have been sick. I feel like I am on vacation with you. I could feel the bumpy ride in the airplane. We got about 8 inches of snow here. It is going to be warm later in week so it won't last. Have fun. Sharyn

Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.016s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.4kb