In the middle of nowhere


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Oamaru
October 17th 2017
Published: October 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hi there!
Huh my last blog entry has been so long ago.

So after living in a cosy house for a week with a person I call 'the witch', I found a job in a hostel. I worked there 2-3 hours a day for accomodation. The contract said 1 1/2 hour a day but things are never like promised... I stayed there for nearly 3 weeks, making beds every morning, vacuuming, cleaning the bathrooms and the kitchen. No day off. I shared my room with 7 other people... Well, I would call it a pretty bad job. But it was bearable. I didn't have to pay for accomodation and the hostel was in the city centre of Dunedin and a 10 minutes walk from the university.
I met so many great people at the hostel. As soon as I am back in Luxembourg I will visit some of them.
Tessy and Adriana came to visit for a few days. I really enjoyed having them by my side. We went to see the penguins and the Moeraki boulders together. We also went on Sandfly beach on the Otago pensinsula to see the sea lions.
I went on my first night out here in NZ and had to go on a second the following day because it was so great! The nightlife here is very different to Luxembourg. There is so much more happiness in the people's faces.

I quit my job at the hostel nearly one week ago. I am now living on a farm close to a little village called Ngapara. It has approximately 5 houses... we are one of them 😉 I live in the middle of nowhere, when I look out of my bedroom's window, all I see are cows, calves, hills and snowy mountains. I got my own bedroom and my own bathroom. Even a whole room just for my clothes.
My work here consists in babysitting the owner's 7 yo. boy called Jack and keeping 2 houses clean. The one where the owners live and the one where I live. I share my house with an employee of the farm but he is never home except in the evenings, so I nearly got a house for myself.
I really enjoy hanging out with Jack. He is a very funny kid and tells me a lot about New Zealand animals.
Two days ago, Jack and I went to the Extravaganza Fair in Oamaru. It was really cool and I won a little teddybear at a game. After the fair we went to the harbour where someone proposed us a tour on his sailing boat. We couldn't resist. When we came back to land, the America's cup was there. New Zealand won it last year. Jack got autographs from his favourite sailors and was really happy.
I really enjoy being here, far away from everything and still so close to the sea. When I sit outside in the sun, all I hear are birds and cows. No cars, no planes, no humans.

Greetings from somewhere in the middle of nowhere <3

(ps.: Today I hitchhiked for the first time. Quite a good feeling to know that you don't get killed and raped like my mother always told me when I was a kid 😉 )


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb