Onward to civilisation


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region
April 4th 2013
Published: April 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have a fairly long bus journey from Kaikoura to Blenhim, then a 45min wait and then from Blenhium to Nelson, all in a small, old, hot and rather smelly minibus. It is a stunning drive, especially nearing Nelson, through the Ria valley pass. But it is much like going to a ski resort in the mountain, with lots of very winding steep roads, and we have to stop a few times on the way as poor little boy gets out to be sick.

When I arrive I explore the town, for New Zealand its actually quite large – the largest place by far I have been to since Queenstown, and it is rather exciting! I wonder round the shops, and even try on the odd dress and skirt…just to make me feel more human, and less like a constant walker in my boots and trousers!

It turns out Ana is also in Nelson, arrived yesterday and is staying in a different hostel, so we meet up and go for an early evening picnic on Thunanui beach with her friend Honza, who she met yesterday. We have a lovely evening on the beach, enjoying our picnic and watching the sunset.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb